We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to visit in Llandudno ”

Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 206 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and Hot Stone Restaurant. A secret to be found. Tucked away in a side street we are not easy to find. But when you do you are in for a big surprise. We are different to say the least..You could say quirky and you would be right. Old second hand china, cups, saucers, plates, glasses, furniture etc all bought from charity shops and completely mismatched giving the place character and ambiance hence the name Characters. Food is wholesome and unpretentious ,soups, sandwiches, hand made cakes & scones of different flavours forming the basis of our now famous Afternoon Tea. Accompanied by proper loose leaf tea & coffee of your choice we are open daytime 11am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. In the evening Friday & Saturday serving from 6.30pm to 8.00pm our also famous "Steak on the Stone" Accompanied by "Bring your Own" wine, beer or champagne. Whenever you decide to visit you will be greeted with a big welcome from the staff & management of this lovely family run restaurant..hopefully see you soon. Characters Team
Reviewed 28 June 2022 via mobile

Great service, great food. Reasonably priced.
We used to visit for the steak on the stone of an evening which was great, best baked potatoes ever and quality beef.
Last visit, we had tea and cakes which was excellent.
We will be back.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2022 via mobile

We can’t recommend this place enough. It was absolutely amazing experience. Customer service was brilliant, ladies were so cheerful and helpful. It’s dog friendly which was a must for us and our “fur baby”. And then food.. Delicious! I swapped sandwich for panini on afternoon tea and it was great decision, fresh scones still warm and cakes were so tasty. It was our first visit but definitely we found a fantastic hidden Gem in Llandudno We will visit again soon
PS. Bathroom/ toilet set up is something we’ve not seen anywhere else

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank 22izabelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 May 2022

We had a great visit…..the staff were friendly, the food was delicious & the lemon cake was the best I’ve ever had! Staff were very friendly & the attention to detail was. Service was quick, efficient and the staff definitely look after their customers! The inside was so sweet & quirky……a lot of love has gone into the place. I will definitely be returning. Thank you ladies, best hot chocolate ever!

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank angelawW3016PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 April 2022

Went for lunch on the first day of our recent mini break, and was so friendly that we went back the next day.

Food was tasty and good portions and we really enjoyed the scones.

Staff were really friendly and chatty and we enjoyed the decoration and lovely tea cups.

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank kbsjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch and afternoon tea with the family, nicely decorated and clean, the staff were amazing. Definitely recommend here. It set us up before going on the tram, and big wheel on the promenade.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank karendG2713YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.