We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ox(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveller rating
741
177
28
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
741
177
28
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriggers restauranttwin sails bridgelifeboat simulatorslipway bardiscovery tourtraining facilitiesworthy causeholes baypoole harbourgreat place to staysecure parkingharbour viewfantastic viewsfunction roombuffet stylecomfy bedwedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 952 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Arrived in Poole and looked through trip advisor for accommodation - the fact that this is a college was initially off putting but due to the excellent reviews we checked it out. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and our room was lovely and clean with a glorious comfy bed. The view was outstanding. We sat on the balcony of the hotel bar during the evening and enjoyed the views over harbour and the sunset. There was a plentiful breakfast available the following morning. Great value for money. I will certainly return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for your very kind review with tripadvisor. Our primmary purpose is training lifeboat crew and lifeguards to save lives at sea.

When the RNLI College has available space we use every opportunity to help raise funds to support our purpose...saving lives at sea.

All of our hotel accommodation has a view of Holes Bay, part of Poole Harbour. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. A photo of the sunset you refer to has been posted on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for taking the time to write a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

On arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were immaculate. Exactly as shown on web. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Evening meal although good value, choice was limited as food not available as advertised. On the whole, despite the evening meal choice being limited, I would highly recommend this hotel as superb value for money with staff that will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Also a good cause. Thankyou to all the staff that made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review. we are delighted that you had such a good welcome. We like to feel that the RNLI College is home to lifeboat crew and lifeguards who give up their time to train in saving lives at sea.

Our Riggers restaurant offer a range of dishes including local, fresh food. This does mean that occassionly dishes will run out, or not be available. We try and substitute these dishes with other offers.

Staying at the RNLI College really helps support us in our purpose of saving lives at sea. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the RNLI Lifeboat College for two nights. We were attending a double birthday celebration in the Harbour View retaurant on the Saturday. Our stay was enjoyable from the moment we arrived. All rooms have harbour views and are very clean and comfortable. Dove toiletries are supplied. Breakfast was a buffet and of a very high standard - inc. fresh fruit, stewed fruit, yoghurt, croissant, full English. fruit juice etc. The bar and restaurant were first class too. We shall be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrambleBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

The Harbour view was a lovely setting for the joint 80th Birthday party you were celebrating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the RNLI College and your stay.

Everyone who uses RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This super hotel has 60 bedrooms, all with sea views across the inner harbour at Poole.
You have to be an RNLI member to book, but with membership from around £28 a year, not only are you doing this top UK charity a favour, but yourself too, by then having the privilege of staying at a great venue with such great rates (it was £75 a double room per night B&B when staying 2 nights or more when we visited).
Anyone who has stayed at a Holiday Inn Express will see a parallel in the style of this ultra-modern college/hotel building. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotless, with big fluffy towels. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help. There is a separate semi-circular bar area on the first floor with wonderful views over Holes Bay, with a spiral staircase down to the ground floor Riggers restaurant. Breakfast is served there buffet-style with a large range of hot and cold choices. For example, the locally-sourced sausages are excellent and you can have eggs fried, scrambled or poached. Plus kippers and haddock, etc.
We also dined there one evening and enjoyed grilled sea bream with fresh vegetables and steamed plaice with lemon and capers. All very reasonably priced. One wee suggestion? It would be nice to have tablecloths and a candle or two to add to the restaurant's ambience in the evenings.
Of course, the main point of the college is to train the brave volunteers who give their time to crew our lifeboats, and it was good to see them relaxing at the end of a day's instruction. You can also book a tour to see them in action.
The college has secure parking and is just a level 10-minute walk to the bustling Poole Quay and old town with its pubs, restaurants, museum and shops. Not forgetting the local ferry links and boat trips. All in all, a great place to stay and we are so glad we are RNLI members. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bananabirdzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate you kind comments.

The primary purpose of the College is to train our volunteer Lifeboat crew and Lifeguards. When the bedrooms are not required for training we sell bedrooms to support the RNLI work in saving lives at sea.

We hope that members and supporters of the RNLI enjoy the unique setting and facilities at the very competitive rates offered.

Table cloths are used in Riggers on Friday and Saturday nights, and we are currently reviewing the set up and dinner offer to balance the preferences of Crew, Members and Supporters.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here on the 10th August whilst doing some work for the RNLI, I assumed when they told me I was staying in the RNLI Colleges hotel, that it would be fairly rough and ready and full of lifeboatmen, but this is actually a 5 star hotel open it would appear to the general public.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly, I was early and a very attractive polish or Czech girl came and sat and chatted with me while I waited for my colleagues to arrive.

The room was excellent with a view of the harbour where the spare lifeboats are kept, we decided to eat in the hotel for dinner and again, this was 5 star, very good menu, food beautifully presented and a good choice too.

I dont normally stay at hotels and not find a fault, but I can honestly say, I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telecoms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Telecoms2

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit on tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We strive to make The RNLI College feel like a 'home from home' for all our volunteer crew and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

It is important to us that as a crew member, RNLI Member or supporter that everyone is made to feel welcome and enjoys their stay. The RNLI College is not like most hotels.....everything we do is linked to saving lives at sea. Thank you for your support.

Kind regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews