We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation I have ever had!”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The bed and breakfast that is offered at the RNLI Lifeboat College in Poole is first rate!
I have never stayed in a nicer room anywhere and the price is amazing! What's even greater is that it's an excellent way to support the charity. The atmosphere is wonderful, nautical in theme and the staff is friendly and helpful as well. I lost some important papers on my way there and I was given the use of the computers to go on line and get back my train tickets, maps, etc. They went out of their way to help. They also offer a tour of the college and training facility, definately take the opportunity!
I'm looking forward to a return visit next summer!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank DennisVernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are very proud of our volunteer support and staff and are delighted that you were assisted with your lost tickets.

The College tours are unique and offer an insight into the work of the RNLI and award winning training facilities. Our Volunteer tour guides talk through Sea Survival training, our simulators, training pool with an encyclopaedic knowledge of the RNLI's work.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your support in helping the RNLI save lives at sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 824 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Arrived in Poole and looked through trip advisor for accommodation - the fact that this is a college was initially off putting but due to the excellent reviews we checked it out. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and our room was lovely and clean with a glorious comfy bed. The view was outstanding. We sat on the balcony of the hotel bar during the evening and enjoyed the views over harbour and the sunset. There was a plentiful breakfast available the following morning. Great value for money. I will certainly return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for your very kind review with tripadvisor. Our primmary purpose is training lifeboat crew and lifeguards to save lives at sea.

When the RNLI College has available space we use every opportunity to help raise funds to support our purpose...saving lives at sea.

All of our hotel accommodation has a view of Holes Bay, part of Poole Harbour. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. A photo of the sunset you refer to has been posted on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for taking the time to write a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

On arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were immaculate. Exactly as shown on web. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Evening meal although good value, choice was limited as food not available as advertised. On the whole, despite the evening meal choice being limited, I would highly recommend this hotel as superb value for money with staff that will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Also a good cause. Thankyou to all the staff that made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review. we are delighted that you had such a good welcome. We like to feel that the RNLI College is home to lifeboat crew and lifeguards who give up their time to train in saving lives at sea.

Our Riggers restaurant offer a range of dishes including local, fresh food. This does mean that occassionly dishes will run out, or not be available. We try and substitute these dishes with other offers.

Staying at the RNLI College really helps support us in our purpose of saving lives at sea. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the RNLI Lifeboat College for two nights. We were attending a double birthday celebration in the Harbour View retaurant on the Saturday. Our stay was enjoyable from the moment we arrived. All rooms have harbour views and are very clean and comfortable. Dove toiletries are supplied. Breakfast was a buffet and of a very high standard - inc. fresh fruit, stewed fruit, yoghurt, croissant, full English. fruit juice etc. The bar and restaurant were first class too. We shall be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrambleBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

The Harbour view was a lovely setting for the joint 80th Birthday party you were celebrating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the RNLI College and your stay.

Everyone who uses RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This super hotel has 60 bedrooms, all with sea views across the inner harbour at Poole.
You have to be an RNLI member to book, but with membership from around £28 a year, not only are you doing this top UK charity a favour, but yourself too, by then having the privilege of staying at a great venue with such great rates (it was £75 a double room per night B&B when staying 2 nights or more when we visited).
Anyone who has stayed at a Holiday Inn Express will see a parallel in the style of this ultra-modern college/hotel building. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotless, with big fluffy towels. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help. There is a separate semi-circular bar area on the first floor with wonderful views over Holes Bay, with a spiral staircase down to the ground floor Riggers restaurant. Breakfast is served there buffet-style with a large range of hot and cold choices. For example, the locally-sourced sausages are excellent and you can have eggs fried, scrambled or poached. Plus kippers and haddock, etc.
We also dined there one evening and enjoyed grilled sea bream with fresh vegetables and steamed plaice with lemon and capers. All very reasonably priced. One wee suggestion? It would be nice to have tablecloths and a candle or two to add to the restaurant's ambience in the evenings.
Of course, the main point of the college is to train the brave volunteers who give their time to crew our lifeboats, and it was good to see them relaxing at the end of a day's instruction. You can also book a tour to see them in action.
The college has secure parking and is just a level 10-minute walk to the bustling Poole Quay and old town with its pubs, restaurants, museum and shops. Not forgetting the local ferry links and boat trips. All in all, a great place to stay and we are so glad we are RNLI members. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bananabirdzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate you kind comments.

The primary purpose of the College is to train our volunteer Lifeboat crew and Lifeguards. When the bedrooms are not required for training we sell bedrooms to support the RNLI work in saving lives at sea.

We hope that members and supporters of the RNLI enjoy the unique setting and facilities at the very competitive rates offered.

Table cloths are used in Riggers on Friday and Saturday nights, and we are currently reviewing the set up and dinner offer to balance the preferences of Crew, Members and Supporters.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.8 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.6 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
4.9 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $152 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing