We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with a view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Wharf Poole

Banana Wharf Poole
Ranked #17 of 360 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

We visited Poole quay on the sunny late May bank hol so wanted to enjoy the weather over our lunch - hence this place seemed a good choice with its large roof terrace. We managed to secure a front row table and ordered drinks
We had to chase those drinks when we were asked for our food order turned out they lost the note re which table the drinks were for which wasn't a good start. Service was a bit slow. Menu is wide ranging but we opted for a selection of tapas/ starters and a salad. Ribs were excellent. Calamari was a good sized portion but rather greasy. Overall a nice stop off and enjoyable for people and harbour watching in the sunshine.

  • Visited May 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    213
    83
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely view, ok service, manager not nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016

It was a very sunny day. Shades worn. The 4 of us sat for a drink. The setting is exceptional looking over the sea, putting aside the industry of port; Cranes, shipping, etc.

The service was ok, not exceptional, not bad, just ok.

As people enter the 'beer garden' the sign says 'Please wait to be seated'. Most read and abide, others don't, like any pub/restaurant. Woe betide those that do not read. The manager was not great. It was as though he'd forgotten the very ethos of customer service. We were thankfully not subjected to his difficult nature. We saw many that were.

  • Visited May 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenasmithmtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dining with a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2016

Banana Wharf offers an excellent location on the seafront and a very wide selection of menu items. I enjoyed the spaghetti Bolognese. Service was a bit slow and the noise level is rather high, but it was very enjoyable and a venue to which I would return.

  • Visited June 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Nana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal in the sunshine ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Came here for my b'day with my parents and had a very nice meal outside on the terrace.
Staff were friendly and attentive and food was really nice. Good experience

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely bistro overlooking Poole quay outdoor seating on large balcony or indoor seating if cooler, lovely food in fact I would go as far as saying the best fajitas I have ever eaten hubby are chilli kids had rib combo and mussels all too notch too , enjoyed our meal so much visited twice during our weeks holiday

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Wharf Poole also viewed

 

Been to Banana Wharf Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing