We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
624
687
390
238
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
624
687
390
238
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain ferry sea view spa area sauna and steam room outdoor pool watching the boats poole harbour stunning location old harry rocks bar menu public areas balcony room brownsea island fantastic views sister hotel a bit tired buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020

The staff in the hotel were lovely and very friendly. I have to say that even without the issues of covid that this property has seen better days and is a little tired. I would highly recommend paying for a view of the sea and a balcony which was not a vast cost and done by the lady at reception the alternative is a view of the car park. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and clearly have been upgraded, the holes are still very visible in the bathroom with the replacement fixtures. The views from the front of Old Harry Rocks and the bar were very pleasant.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank apples1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2020

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in due course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2020

Had a lovely 3 nights stay. The room was nice and bed was very warm and comfortable. View from the balcony was beautiful such a shame we didn't have much sunshine. Staff at the hotel were very accomadating and very helpful. Food was very good and the resturant's evening menu was very good. They had a phone charger to fit my old mobile as I'd left mine at home.

Room tip: Balcony with seaview is superb
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 19,841,958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2020

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in due course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

stayed for 2 nights. no complaints. very covid secure, felt safe. our rooms overlooked the sea which was lovely. rooms had everything ie comfy bed, tv, teasmade, water etc. due to good old covid there was only basic room service, so had to make our own beds, no biggie as rules are rules.
hotel is isolated so you do have to drive or get a cab anywhere.
had evening meal which was really nice, great service, just a shame yet again thank you covid kicked out on the dot of 10, but rules are rules!
BREAKFAST is a strange experience and really missed the usual hotel breakfast experience, but ill say it yet again all due to covid, so not the hotel's fault
all staff were pleasant and friendly, in particular the lovely (assume manager) man who saw people to their tables at breakfast.
all in all a great stay, recommend, will def return and hope to god covid does one so we can have a proper hotel stay x

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2020

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in due course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

I found this hotel to be a bit quirky, a bot old fashioned and in need of a refresh,

Clear effort to deal with COVID restrictions but is not always easy to follow - we found the breakfast routine quite amusing where you need to choose which sauce or milk you would like before you choose what you are eating!

Location, whilst beautiful, is quite isolated and need a car to get to anything outside the hotel.

Our room, which although large was quite poorly finished and definitely needed some attention, probably not been refreshed for a long time. Temperature of the room was the most annoying as was very high even with the radiators off and windows open (even though it was late October) - this was probably linked to the towel rail in the bathroom which was permanently scalding to the touch and could not be controlled.
Bathroom was similarly in need of an update and the shower was pathetic.

It was also a shame that the indoor spa was closed due to COVID as we had hoped to use the pool as a family with poor weather forecast. I feel more effort could be made here considering public swimming pools are in operation across the country whilst we stayed.

Room tip: Sea views are lovely, otherwise you will be subject to the car park
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank its_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

It was nice to show my family where I worked many years ago.

We had a superior family room. It was huge! 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a balcony with partial sea view. Exactly as described and clean.

Covid restrictions have been dealt with well ie one way systems etc.

It was great the outdoor pool was open (reception staff arranged for bath robes in the room as the changing facilities were closed).

Dinner and breakfast was good. Staff were attentive.

Great location. The children enjoyed the Watersports Academy which is based at the Sandbanks (sister hotel)

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MrsC1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2020

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in due course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews