We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We booked a room here for one night over the end May bank hol weekend when we decided we wanted a break but struggled for availability anywhere interesting. We came up trumps in finding this hotel - it's attractive, has a lovely terrace that has sun on one or another most of the day, and is in a quiet spot but only just behind the popular quayside. The room we had was high up which was nice in being away from any noise but the downside was the convoluted route to get there. - up and down and around and we couldn't get oriented. Certainly wouldn't have been good for those less mobile. Also perhaps due to the room location the WiFi was very weak. However the room was very comfortable with the bathroom had a great power shower despite being over the bath.
The breakfast room was quiet and no issues with service that Sunday morning. The buffet options were attractive and we had a full english breakfast and another bacon dish. They looked better than they tasted - the bacon seemed to have been broiled and then just put on a griddle to get grill markings so it was weirdly soft and moist and got cold quickly so a bit disappointing.
Overall it's a pricey hotel and not perfect but nice for a short break to explore the area. We enjoyed taking a boat around the harbour in the sunshine and then had a good Italian dinner just along the quay. Next day we explored Studland via the Sandbanks ferry.

Room Tip: Check on accessibility if you have mobility issues - no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Roundy,

thank you very much for your time writing your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Christian
Hdv Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hotel overnight as I was doing business in Poole. The hotel entrance and room were fantastic. I had a standard room but it was so big. Plus the welcome was fantastic! I also had breakfast there which was again beautiful and you felt well looked after. It is a bit of a rabbits warren inside though with lots of random staircases. I did get a bit lost trying to get out when I first arrived.

The only downside is that they forgot to give me my wake up call I requested and my newspaper. Luckily I set my alarm on my phone just incase. That's why it only gets 4 stars from me. However if you like your mini bars you will love this charming hotel!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mikerainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Mikerainsford,

thank you for your feedback and kind comments. Please accept my apologies about the missed wake-up call, but plan B worked.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This was our first experience of Hotel du Vin and we were suitably impressed, a superb hotel in an excellent location just a few minutes for the quay. The hotel has a charming relaxed atmosphere with staff who are very attentive and who deliver an exceptional level of service. We took advantage of the Sunday night offer and booked a double terrace but were upgraded on arrival to a superb studio suite and the bistro is both elegant and informal and provides quality food and drink. Our only concern would be the parking which could be a pain but we were lucky as there was one of the limited spaces available on arrival. No complaints and we’ll certainly book another stay at this or one of Hotel du Vins other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Ian T,

thank you for your time writing your great feedback, which I have forwarded to the rest of the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely rooms with superb facilities. Loved the bath in the bedroom and the huge walk in shower room.
Main let down was the wi-fi, not only slow 1Mb/s at best and much worse when trying to upload photos. Also coverage was inconsistent and having to put email address in every time I logged on (you know who I am) - why get everything else right and miss this one?

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Rob P,

thank you for your valued feedback and i am pleased that you, overall, enjoyed our hotel.
Due to the layout of the hotel there is one or two black spots within the building, but generally we have good wi-fi coverage.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

I shared the Torres suite with a friend having decided to treat ourselves on a weekend away. The room was lovely and and all the touches you look for in a room are provided: tea and coffee; free wi-fi; fresh milk in the mini-bar; Ren toiletries; an iron and ironing board if needed etc. Linens are spotlessly clean and the bathroom is super - there's a double shower for anyone too shy to use the roll top bath in the bedroom. This would be a five star review but for a few small niggles which, at nearly £300 a night, you don't expect: breakfast was rather chaotic - no glasses for juice, no bowls for cereal, no spoons on the table - and the champagne we ordered from the bar on the night of our arrival came in dirty glasses. This is a lovely hotel - the staff are very friendly and there's a nice relaxed atmosphere - plus they validate your parking if you're forced to use the NCP which is about 5-10 minutes away. My quibbles are only small and shouldn't put anyone off staying here. They're just the things that, for me, stop a very good hotel from being a great one. Each is very easily fixed though.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ajh8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear ajh8368,

thank you for your time writing your review and I have forwarded your comments to the rest of the team.
You are 100% correct in saying that the little things would have made all the important differences and we will make sure that they happen.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
4.5 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
4.6 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,791 reviews
4.5 km away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 km away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $181 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing