We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveller rating
911
457
194
69
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
911
457
194
69
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath monsoon shower mansion house car park lovely building multi storey mini bar coffee machine main building wine list standard room eggs benedict an upgrade afternoon tea per night sunday lunch fresh milk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a magical experience for our wedding day, our guests without exception commented on tyhe wonderful quality of the meal served and the brilliant staff. Our Organiser was Jade Alcock and she really was brilliant. First Class Hotel in a very pretty part of Old Poole truly a day to remember

Room tip: Parking on site limited
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Jim G,

thank you for your great comments and get in touch with me directly (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com) to make your anniversary booking here with us.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We chose du Vin Poole as we have stayed at some of their other locations before and it sounded like the perfect location from which to explore Dorset and the Jurassic Coast for a few days.
The hotel proved to be just that - located in the middle of the old quay area in several old buildings that have been joined together. This has given the hotel a unique and quirky interior that is a maze of corridors and small stairways, while keeping many of the old buildings' original features - lovely.
Our room was spacious with a very comfortable king-size bed and all of the facilities you will need (ironing board, hairdryer etc). The good sized bathroom has a great over-bath monsoon shower and everything was spotless.
Our only comment would be that some of the details lacked the polish of some high-end 5* hotels we have stayed at (hanging loose extractor fan cover, loose bathroom floor tiles, wall paint on picture frame sides). None of this detracted from our stay in any way though, it just lacked a little polish in a few places.
The service was consistently excellent and friendly, whether in the bar, the restaurant or reception.
The food was very good throughout our stay, in breakfast and in the bistro for dinner, and, as you would expect, the wine list was extensive and the quality superb.
Our only other slightly negative comment is the parking. Understandably few spaces (given the age of the building and area) is complicated by the narrow, through-arch access to the small courtyard. Not allowing large 4x4 vehicles or on-site work vans to use the courtyard (one van parked there all week without moving) would make it considerably easier to manoeuvre the area and make better use of the limited space. Additionally, the advertised alternate car parks don't include the one immediately next to the Hotel - which was also apparently accessible via a side gate to the Hotel's patio. If this car park is an option for guest use, it would have been useful to know.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back - with our dog next time (as we realised how dog friendly the hotel, city and county all are).

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 996garethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Gareth L,

thank you so very much for your review and kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again with your dog and please feel free to contact me directly (christian.struckl@hotmail.com) to make your next booking.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Visited for Sunday lunch for a group of 5 in the Hotel Bistro. Had set 4 course lunch which was very good quality and choice. Second course is a help-yourself to charcuterie and fish dishes, nice novelty. Good choice and quality, recommend. Nice setting and very good service.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Charles G,

thank you for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after a rugby presentation night as it's a little too far to get a taxi, we've had dinner here many times as the fillet steak is amazing. So happy with the room we had, there was two televisions one facing the sofas and one facing the bed, a roll top bath in the corner of the bedroom. The decor was lovely and relaxing but still modern. The shower was incredible, my favourite shower I've ever used. The only bad thing was I suffer with bad shoulders and the mattress was quite firm but I'm sure that suits some people. This hotel is actually just perfect, the bar area is calming and intimate - perfect for a first date or a civilised drink before going to dinner. The rooms are quite highly priced but I think it's justified by the fact they are brilliant - to be honest I actually considered binning the rugby do and staying in the room.. something my wife would have loved!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Charlie E,

thank you for your time writing your great review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay, such a lovely room, really friendly welcome and the evening meal and breakfast was just fantastic.
One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.
Oh plus all the staff where very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear steve_apelt,

Thank you for your great feedback and kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews