We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely place to visit

Beautiful walk lovely in the summer but can get very busy so parking can be difficult. Kids love... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
jess242018
via mobile
Great for all ages

Newmillerdam is one of my favourite places. It’s great for all ages and all fitness levels. The... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Leaf_Peeper00
,
Wakefield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 811 reviews
  
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
479
273
48
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
479
273
48
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely walk dam inn fox and hounds car park an ice cream van ducks and swans boat house country park dog walkers lovely place afternoon stroll busy at weekends water birds round the lake pay and display dog owners bird life
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Lovely path walks around the lake with trails leading into the woods. Pretty good under foot even after rain as the paths drain well and are sheltered by the trees. Beware of cyclists though who are not permitted around the lake but appear to ignore the signs.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 116rogerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Weather was such a nice change. What a gem to run. Bit muddy but not complaining..the views are stunning..best part all the dogs running around.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Happylife0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We usually park on a residential street about a 5 min walk from the lake as we can never get parked in the council small car park. I think the cafe in the lake grounds should be open all year, council missing out here. People want takeaway hot drinks & cakes. The walk is ok it’s nothing special and I think more dogs should be kept on leads as my small dogs get frightened easily by large uncontrollable dogs.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank pinkbunnytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

There are plenty of paths to chose from here so you can make your walk as long or short as you like, either staying on the waterside path or venturing into the woods. It's great for families with prams /wheelchairs, dog walkers or just on your own to get some fresh air.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank BessieCaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My favourite walk with my lass. Takes no more them an hour, nice, quiet and lovely place to relax, parking right next to it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Ladislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews