We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
374
180
44
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
374
180
44
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowlbay roomspiral staircasemaple cottagehatch beauchampduck egggroupon dealcosy barfresh milkblack puddinglog firerear gardencontinental breakfasthome grownyoung staffupgraded roomsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked here as it was listed as "dog friendly" and initially seemed to be so. The cottage, although decorated in "poor taste 1980s" had a shared but lovely garden for the dogs to romp in. Small problems we were more than prepared to overlook: for instance the kitchen floor was covered in dirt and coffee as was the washing machine. The shower was less than a trickle and the bed was better on one side!
Our problems began when on the second day we were relaxing with a cup of coffee when the door burst open at about 14.30 and a lady began to clean the kitchen with the front door wide open. Privacy considerations aside..........(no she did not knock!) I asked her politely if we could have the door closed as the dogs were loose in the room. She retorted that we have to keep an eye on our own dogs. I asked what would have happened if we had not been there (for instance at breakfast) she was insistent that our dogs were our responsibility.
The manager was spoken to and said that we could put a notice on the door if the dogs were there. I asked why we should have to as we had booked the place with the dogs! No consideration was given to the lack of propriety of the cleaner's behaviour. Why would anyone leave their stuff in a place where the doors were left wide open?
Unable to trust that our dogs would be safe: we came home: another 7 hour drive: only to find that "other charges" had been added on to our credit card bill AFTER WE LEFT. These were not authorized by us. This place is extremely expensive anyway so ANY extra charges are unwarranted.
This whole experience left a nasty taste!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is described as 'Dog friendly', it is not. You are expected to be with your dogs 24/7, so not much of a holiday for you! unless you like leaving your dogs in the car. The food whilst fairly good is very,very expensive as are the drinks. You have to make your own toast for breakfast and the 'full' English is, well, not very full- 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage 1/2 tomato, a handful of very small, burnt mushrooms and an egg. The owner along with the staff is very hard to track down and seems to have scant regard for customer service. One major word of warning. There is an undisclosed cancellation fee-they need 48 hours notice otherwise he'll charge you the full whack. This happened to us when we decided to leave on being told ( via a third party cleaner) that John (the owner) was not happy with us leaving our thoroughly well behaved dogs while we went away for a couple of hours! Seeing as how we were made to feel unwelcome we decided to go home ( some 250+ mies!), only to be charged for 2 extra nights. On trying to reason with John about this unfairness, he swears blind the fees are made clear ( they are not-not even mentioned on his website). He is intransigent and will not listen or respond to any reason. He offered a complimentary 2 nights, but bear in mind he made it clear that we were basically not welcome with the dogs- a sure fire win on his part- we were hardly likely to go back!
Also, watch out for credit card payments. We had one made on our account even after we had left. He takes all your details before you even get the key to your room. This in retrospect is quite sinister and should not be allowed. Check your credit card bill thoroughly!
Nice building and location though, but not priced for your average punter. Don't expect immediate service or a genuine warm welcome and watch out for the charges.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 041014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A wonderful small country house hotel ideally located 10 minutes off the M5 (between the M5 and the A303) for breaking that long trip down to Cornwall. Extremely comfortable rooms in the centre of the quiet village of Hatch Beauchamp. Dinner is available if required at reasonable cost. Attentive service. Dog friendly. Lovely walks into the countryside on your doorstep.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but our favourites are "Sandlewood" and "The Garden Room".
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here at short notice on a stop over on our way to Devon. The man who greeted us at reception was very friendly.
We had booked a double room, but were given a large cottage next to the hotel instead. It had a kitchen, ensuite double bedroom, sitting room and conservatory. The kitchen was especially useful for preparing our toddler's food. There is direct access from the cottage to a garden at the back of the hotel with animals such as pigs, chickens and sheep in a fenced off area - these were an added bonus for our toddler.
We ate at the restaurant on the evening of our arrival. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was very good. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a baby or child or if you just want more space, ask for the cottage, which has a kitchen, lots of space and access to the garden
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outsidethebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Have only ever had wonderful food - and great service here. Really don`t know why anyone who lives locally would go anywhere else - many thanks, as always John.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank oasthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews