We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$123
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$132
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$236
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Taunton(Taunton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Catwell House(Taunton)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
379
183
46
24
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
379
183
46
24
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowlbay roomspiral staircasemaple cottagethe cedar roomhatch beauchampduck egggroupon dealcosy barfresh milkblack puddingrear gardenlog firecontinental breakfasthome grownsmall hotelthis lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at a hotel down the road and were uncomfortable - so came here! It was quirky, beautiful and interesting. We stayed in the Bay room, with the en suite at the top of a spiral staircase! The room took some warming up, the bed was soft, but it was nice enough. Breakfast was superb - home cured bacon, homemade black pudding, and duck eggs. A tasty treat indeed!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank theCovMuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We visited during a very cold and wet spell in January and loved the fires in all of the communal rooms. Everything including our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. Only the rooms in the main house were being used and they come in a variety of shapes and sizes, ours was called Willow and was spacious, light and airy with a large balcony which would be a good place to sit out and admire the view - but not in January. We found the breakfasts excellent and more than ample, we were able to pick and choose from the items on the menu. However there was a limited choice if you wanted cereal. We had four evening meals from the limited menu, three were excellent, one, the only vegetarian option, was awful. I was surprised when the waitress made no meaningful comment when I complained. On the second night the only vegetarian option was the same as the previous day. Other than this instance the staff were superb. We would return as I eat fish which was very good, but check with the hotel if you are vegetarian.
Booking would be better if you could talk to a person.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank petejackson888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Great place to stay peaceful and quiet a really nice setting and people could not fault a thing.t as was the breakfast would certainly stay again. A great place for a really relaxing break rooms are also good great beds could do with lighter duvets only complaint, but not so bad.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank filltek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

A very comfortable hotel oozing with character in a tiny, pretty village. The room we had was large and well equipped and the 5 foot bed was oh so comfortable. The restaurant wasn't open for dinner but the scrambled egg for breakfast was the best I'd ever tasted. The staff and service were friendly and efficient. In the garden there were chickens and ducks, so the breakfast eggs were very fresh! Definitely recommend a stay at this charming hotel. (As the restaurant was closed due to it being off-season, we found a country inn just up the road which provided us with dinner.)

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given Cedar and there was no noise.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank val292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stayed with some friends and were left very disappointed. The hotel is pleasantly situated and rooms comfortable with polite staff. The carpets appeared to need a good clean in hallway and stairs and some decorating would not go amiss. The main cause for such a poor rating is the awful and outrageously expensive breakfast. On the website it sounds good, but, not on our visit. There was no selection of cereal, only granola and bran flakes, along with fruit and yogurt. The coffee came in cafetieres which clearly needed new filters as the coffee was very grainy. To cap it all the breakfast consisted of one duck egg, one sausage with the toughest skin I have ever encountered and not the most tasty, 2 minute pieces of bacon, black pudding, a piece of fried bread and a few mushrooms. Another order was eggs benedict, again one egg and a single small piece of bacon on half a muffin. For this they charged £14.00 a head, OUTRAGEOUS!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank pc431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Pc431,

It’s a shame and frankly petty that you managed to get yourself so worked up and as a result managed to ruin what you described as being a pleasant stay over something as trivial as the price of our breakfast.

For the “OUTRAGEOUS” price of £8 you can help yourself to as much as you want from our continental buffet with a selection of fresh fruits, melon, pineapple, grapefruit, apricot and prunes also yoghurt, pastries, cereals, jams, marmalade, granary and white bloomer toast with a selection of juices. Not to mention teas, coffees, and even pancakes.

Would you not agree when I put it this way the price seems pretty fair?

We also have a “from the kitchen” menu which has extensive cooked breakfast options which are freshly cooked to order and delivered to your table including the offending full English that you were so critical of. I’d like to point out for the benefit of the people who had the pleasure to read your review it also includes a grilled tomato as well as the items you managed to list.

But with joking aside for now the other items on our full English are, home dry cured bacon, home-made sausages, home-made black pudding, fried bloomer bread from our bakery who deliver fresh bread every morning, eggs of your choice from our ducks in the orchard and finally mushrooms which are from our supplier. Sorry we can’t grow these.

If you order from this menu on top of the continental breakfast we charge £14 in total. SO OUTRAGEOUS!

We take on board your comments about our cereal offering. Acting on this critique I would ask you to notify us when visiting again in the future, so we have ample time to get some Coco Pops? or maybe some Kelloggs “Froot Loops” so you feel at home.

If you still feel this is “OUTRAGEOUS” when traveling you should get online and scout out the local supermarket café they do a breakfast for £5.95.

But please bare in mind if you order tea, coffee, yogurt, granola, and some toast on top of the cooked breakfast this will be charged individually which adds up and won’t be far off our pricing.

Perhaps if you do this you might and only might then realise the quality of our product and the produce we use, the fairness of our pricing and how in this world you pay for what you get.

But no compiling to Trip Advisor!

Regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews