We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
77
131
118
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
131
118
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews service station motorway services room was clean motorway service area break a long journey an update tea and coffee night stop stayed here for two nights good nights sleep southbound stopover hairdryer devon
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We made our booking at the Days inn, Taunton for two rooms on November 4th 2017 - the booking was made and confirmed on October 1st 2017, this was not a last minute booking and at the time a whole range of rooms were available. The booking was for one double room and one twin room. When we arrived to check in, there were no double rooms, just another twin room. When we queried this we were told that there were no other rooms available and that we had booked two twin rooms- the manager, who was at the reception desk denied it was their problem and could not even look us in the eye whilst saying it was booking.coms fault, they do this to us all the time!

We even tried to show him the conformation email which clearly stated the booking arrangement, he didn't even look at it, but just reiterated his comment about it not being his fault.

We feel that the customer service at this hotel was appalling and there was no attempt at an apology, or any kind of recompense for us not receiving what we had booked- the manager was an extremely rude man.

We proceeded to check in and were given rooms on two different floors- this was not ideal with two teenage siblings sharing a room away from us.

The twin room on the ground floor was a disability room, it was very cold, damp and smelled of stale milk. There were water stains on the ceiling, the window was hard to shut to reduce the noise of the traffic, it was clearly in a neglected state- we took photos of cracks in the tiles and stains in various areas- it was not at all pleasant.
The other twin room on the second floor had stains on the ceiling again, and a broken table top. The chair in the room was stained, it looked as though someone had peed on it, sorry to be so blunt but that is what it looked like. The tiles around the bath were broken and thick with grime, and the light didn't work in the morning. Only 1 out of the 3 bedside lights worked and even that one went off after a few minutes, and the lampshades were very tatty.

We feel that our whole experience was totally unacceptable considering the top rates were paid for both the rooms especially with two young teenagers (it was so bad, one of them even offered to pay me the money if we could leave without staying).

It was not a good experience and we cannot recommend this place to anyone. This is the worst experience we have ever had.

Room tip: Avoid and stay somewhere else
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carnival4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We are very sorry that your booking agency made an error with your booking on the busiest day of the year when no other rooms were available.
If you had voiced any concerns at the time , or over night we could have assisted you. (such as how to turn the lights on.)
We do advise all our guest to let us know if they have any issues so we can advise, and try to resolve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Firstly their website offers 2 Twin beds, as far as I was taught Twin is 2 so 2 of them is 4? I.e. 2 large beds. No 2 twin means 2 single the receptionist just chuckled and patronised us, the funny thing is in Chester days inn 2 twins means 2 doubles. Having accepted a family room instead and walked through a corridor with stained ceilings that could of been mistaken for a disused public toilet. We were faced with a double bed with a uncomfortable out of date mattress heavily stained, a stained bathroom, the kettle was yellow, the room had a weird fusty smell, really wasn't somewhere I would want to stay let alone pay. It really is a run down state

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank steakdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This is not a hotel chain that I have ever considered before due to them being on or very near to motorways. After struggling to find a hotel in my price range I found Day'S inn..... and was very pleased by the clean and Quiet room.
I will be using Day'S inn again soon

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank L7835TZmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you found us, and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Bedrooms did not appear to have been decorated or updated since we last stayed two years ago. Towels had holes in them, window catches broken, mould on bedroom ceiling, bath stained, funny smell in room.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank O7557QVjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your review, and for your findings.
I appreciate your concerns, and we note that we are awaiting our full hotel upgrade which should alleviate the issues you note. We hope you will stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Very friendly staff, clean, close to motorway services for food. Would have had to pay extra for breakfast so didn't but right next to motorway services.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 2lizziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review of days Inn, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews