We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meryan House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Taunton(Taunton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
99
33
11
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
33
11
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfuneral servicelovely hotelwall lightsroaring firerecommend this hotelhome cookedlast minute bookingfull englishnothing too much troublenice bathroombirthday partyfriendly ownerspoached eggspiping hotensuite bathroomold housequiet location
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Would not recommend this hotel for functions or to stay the night, especially for same-sex couples.

My girlfriend and I arrived, having emailed them 4 days earlier to ask if we could arrive early as we were attending a funeral. Got no reply, but when we arrived we were informed that we should have phoned or sent a letter in the post! The owner was very inflexible and made us feel very unwelcome - but worst of all was when she asked which booking we were and we told her she asked with surprise "You mean the double?" and when we confirm that, yes we are sleeping in the same bed, she replied "oh!" and her whole body tightened. Rather unsurpringlying this didn't make us feel particularly relaxed.

The guest book in the room focused on the 'traditionalism' of the hotel which further made us feel even more uncomfortable.

The wake was held at the funeral and was so poorly run guests started popping to the shop next door to buy drinks! They didn't put any water out, only offered tea or coffee, and when people asked for water they put the smallest amount out they could out. Instead of putting the food out for people to help themselves, they insisted on very ineffectively trying to serve us. It was a lovely concept but totally ineffective. We had to provide our own drinks for the kids.

My girlfriend and I then got locked out after going to town for dinner - and the owner assured us they don't lock the doors till 11pm, yet we arrived back at 10pm to find both front and back door locked and the owner insisting it wasn't and argued with us. I made a joke about how the door must stick then, but I did test it the next day and it certainly does not stick. The door to our room, however did which was rather annoying.

At breakfast I asked for some bean to go with my breakfast and was told they are for the vegetarians. I said if they had some, I would like them, but long story short I did not get any bake beans with my breakfast.

All in all, if I have to stay in the area again my girlfriend and I will check elsewhere before considering this place again. I wouldn't recommend it for a function nor for any same-sex couples to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Guest
Further to your review on the Meryan, and comments have been taken out of context and are inaccurate.We received your booking (Important information about this guest
Going to a funeral in the afternoon so an early check in would be very much appreciated) this is is all we received no time requested!!!, obliviously arriving at 1.00am and expecting to check in will cause difficulties,, however, you were able to check in at 12.00. (your funeral was not until 2,00 pm)and we suggested in future you call the hotel, to confirm an early check in, ( and we were informed you had issues using the telephone) On booking there was no mention of from us about a double room!! (that was your comment!!) our comment was the confirmation of a double room.As to our room information book, its a standard guest information hotel book.
Regarding the funeral that you attended, here again misinformation, we have been here for many years and provide a relaxed and private and efficient service. The after noon had been booked by the family as an afternoon tea. with no, Alcohol to be served, We provided copious amounts of tea and coffee, with water and squash available for the children. Guest buying items from the shop had not been noticed and we would have stopped, as this is totally unacceptable, as no establishment allows guest to eat and drink food brought in from outside,

We always serve food to our guests as establishments are now held liable for any allergies and have to warn guests of what type food is being served, Anyone in the catering, will be aware of this legislation. On checking you in, you were told the front door would be locked at 11.pm but the back door from the car park would still be open, you proceeded to try and enter through the front door, ringing the bell continuously.When you were informed that the back door was still open, you stated you had issues with DOORs!!!!
Regarding the very substantial full breakfast, it would have been impossible, to get any beans on the plate, We are more than happy to give guest what they want, but beans was not on the menu, but we would offer this to vegetarians as there choice is restricted.

We feel your review is very unfair and nonfactual, and would point out we have many. same sex couples as regular visitors,. constructive criticism is always taken on board, when its based on accurate and truthful information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We stayed here at Xmas and, although the room was a bit kitsch, it was very comfortable. The building is very traditional but everything seems to be in good condition and work well. The owners are very helpful with any queries or help you need but also leave you to it and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Guest
Thanking for taking the time to write a review about the Meryan, however we have never been told before that our rooms were (Art, objects, or design considered to be in poor taste because of excessive garishness or sentimentality,) from the Oxford Dictionary!!!! we hope that, the next time your stay in Taunton, your Hotel wont be too Kitsch!!!!! and we also pleased to hear that we never over burdened you.As for the condition of the hotel!! we try and keep it up to a very high standard, and any faults are repaired immediately, but at 600 years old the building takes a lot of looking after, in order that future generations can enjoy the building as others have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We booked this last minute as a mixed group and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The rooms were perfect as was the bar area and roaring coal fire. The owners have lots to talk about and it is a very relaxed atmosphere with first class breakfast.

I would have no hesitation staying again and would recommend to anyone that wanted a comfy nights stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golligosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity and thank you for your very kind review, its very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night before an event at the cricket ground. Not the most convenient location a fair way out of town, but very friendly and my room was nice if a little small (but then it is an old building) with lots of character and nice touches in terms of decor and also a nice bathroom. Would be a perfect place for a restful weekend away.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank adyandrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking time to give us such a nice review, however, 3 minutes out of Town Centre is not an inconvenient location, we have a bus service every 30 minutes up until 18,00 hrs but we do appreciate you comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Having worked in 4 and 5 star hotels, (many of which were listed buildings) I appreciate the challenges of running a hotel in a listed building so the bathroom of room 11 was a lovely surprise as it was very modern. Also if you like art your will appreciate the nod to Frederick Leighton, and if you like soft beds this room has them. As previous reviewers have commented the rooms are a little bit full of furniture. Also the restaurant does not open until 19:30 which was a pity, and it was very kind of the owner to offer to make us sandwiches. The slight lecture about phoning direct for a better price instead of using Expedia was considered, but when I checked on line before booking via Expedia the prices were the same. So if you want a better price phone the owner!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Valerie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest

May I take this opportunity and thank you for taking time to review the Meryan, while your review is very kind, there is a few points I would like to clarify!! We are actually only 500 yards from the Main A38 through Taunton, and the so called lecture,we were advising, at certain times of the year, we maybe able to offer a discount, this is not shown on any web sites, as it get too complicated to load and un-load prices every day, we also dont find running the hotel a challenge, after 30 years its rather enjoyable, we meet all sorts of people!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews