We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
416
210
91
61
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
210
91
61
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea hot tub foot spa deluxe room spa facilities scones roll top bath cream tea turn down service amuse bouche walk in shower garden room steam room bar menu lounge area staff were attentive course dinner
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I had organised a classic car lunch for around 30 people,thank you to Charley for arranging the event.
The only let down was reception on arrival,having said who i was there was no welcome nothing all he was interested in was get my money,this worried me but when i went into the function room I was was meet by Bruno who had a great smile and welcomed us to the hotel.
To please 28 people is not easy thing todo but your food was very good plus great service from the food service team.
To any one thinking of a party or event contact Charley she is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear jay00_12,
Great to hear that Charley & Bruno made your event a success, the chef will be happy that you enjoyed the food also.
Hopefully see you again next time you are holding an event.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My husband and I stayed overnight and dined in the restaurant. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. The staff were courteous and the service was faultless. Our room was of a high standard. The lounge and bar area had an open fire with plenty of comfortable sofas and chairs to relax in. Plenty of country house character. Peter, the barman deserves a mention for his drinks knowledge and his charming, friendly manner. If I were to change one thing it would be to turn the heating down a notch everywhere, but that is a personal preference rather than a criticism. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Wendal3,
Thank you for taking the time you review your stay with us, it's great to hear that Peter looked after in the lounge & its great to read that your felt well looked after.
Many thanks we hope you return to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Arrived for a spa overnight stay & were greeted by a staff member offering assistance as were driving an adapted motability vehicle. The spa was lovely & our evening meal was delicious although rather small portions. Breakfast was good but staff not so, we had to ask 3 times for toast when it came it wasn't what we asked for. Staff were very pleasant although a little over the top. Room quirky with delightful uneven floorboards and non square doors. Bathroom was sumptuous if slightly tired. Room superficially clean, requiring serious de-cobwebbing as did all the public rooms we saw. All in all we had a relaxing overnight stay in this 18th century manor house boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Believe all the rooms are different.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear billedgar,
Thank you for your review, its nice to read that you enjoyed the Spa & the food during your stay, the quirky floors are a talking point in the old house. We will pass on your comment regarding breakfast & your toast as well as look into the cobwebs in your room.
We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Somerset again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

My partner and I recently visited to enjoy a gift of afternoon tea. On arriving we were ushered into the lounge where we were told to wait for someone to serve us a drink as we were a little early. 45 minutes later and having asked four times for assistance we were asking again. When finally given some attention we asked for a complementary drink as this was not offered. We were served warm champagne at a venue boasting its champagne afternoon tea. When our afternoon tea arrived it was laid on the coffee table but no attempt was made to lay a cloth or set it nicely. We had to ask for Earl grey tea as we were only offered English breakfast tea. Tea was mediocre with dry scones. The venue seemed relatively quiet so we could not understand why there was no service. The house itself we felt was overated. Shabby furniture when you looked closely, dirty carpets in hallways etc. Have to say we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank civil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear civil1,
Many thanks for your review, sorry to read that your afternoon tea experience was not up to standard. It's sad to read that you were kept waiting so long before being served your afternoon tea, as a standard we lay a cloth & set the tables in our lounge for afternoon tea so I don't understand why this was different for yourselves. We will discuss your review with our teams but please feel free to contact the hotel directly to speak with one of the Managers as I'm sure they would love for you to come back & visit us again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

My partner & I shared a spa & dine experience last Monday, I can only say thank you to the lovely staff for a fantastic day beautiful building spa was lush food Devine service great, made her day as was the plan, thank you so much, go again not arf, as to the detractors of this hotel !!!!!! Get a life

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Mike M,
Thank you very much for your review, it's great to hear you had a good time on our Spa & Dine experience.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews