We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$55
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Marston Farm Hotel(Sutton Coldfield)
US$84
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Hall Hotel & Spa(Sutton Coldfield)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$150
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minworth Lodge(Sutton Coldfield)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield Farm Guest House(Sutton Coldfield)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Birmingham Streetly(Sutton Coldfield)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Moxhull Hall(Sutton Coldfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
24
36
30
27
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
36
30
27
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer deliverydance floorscoffee biscuitsswipe cardshower pressurelarge bathroomfamily partyevening foodan enjoyable staycomfy bedbreakfast was excellentassemblygemmaboxingvenueshampoorefurb
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Lest get the good bits out the way, bar area is nice and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed mid week which was bad enough, I would avoid like the plague at a weekend.

Bedrooms are terrible. Floors are uneven and creak, thankfully I'm not a light sleeper or this would have been annoying. They are dirty, outdated, and the furniture in the rooms are falling to bits.

Bedding had been cleaned but had stains and one of the corners of the duvet cover was torn. The pillows were wafer thin and to be honest I contemplated sleeping in my car as it was probably cleaner.

Will not be staying again and would advise you avoid.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely warm welcome at this hotel. Check in was fast and friendly.

The room at the hotel was spacious yet in need of a little TLC. Walls could have done with a little redecoration and the bathroom was not as nice as it could have been. Flooring and cabinet a little bit tired.

Coffee making facilities were good and we were given fresh milk and more tea on request.

The room was hot and it was a very warm day. Would have been nice if a fan was provided as the window being open created a lot of traffic noise.

We did not get to stay for breakfast as we had to leave early.

The free car parking was great.

Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here for a friend's wedding. There is no mention of noise on the website at booking but on arrival, we were made to sign a disclaimer on taking the room that advised of "an element of noise" in the room. When we questioned this, the receptionist told us that she had never stayed overnight but that if we were tired, it wouldn't affect us too much.

The music was horrendous - there was a full club event going on beneath us that went on until 3am. An element of noise was loud, blaring music and a thumping bass. Completely inappropriate for a hotel. The website needs to be more explicit - at the point of check-in, it is far too late to make alternative arrangements. Horrendous hotel and the worst we have experienced.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clurry_spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

A Sunday night is not a night you expect to get zero sleep.
Welcome to spring bank holiday weekend at the Royal!
It started well. The room was functional and average but we didn't mind or book luxury.However the may heatwave meant the room was hot and stuffy so we left the window open.
We headed down to the bar and met a lovely young bar man who looked after us really well. We set up camp in the sofa area which was lovely and passed 5 hours or so.
We returned to our room at about 11pm and were slightly surprised to find bouncers on the door of the hotel. There seemed to be loud music coming from the bar but as it was a Sunday we felt confident it would soon cease.
This was not the case.
The music continued til 3am. Once the revellers were kicked out onto the street, the noise continued. We were a street facing room with the window open. The shouting and singing continued.
In total we got about 90 mins sleep.
Then there was breakfast. Monday morning breakfast starts at 07.00 am or so we thought. On arrival at breakfast the girl serving greeted us with annoyance and demanded to know why we were there so early? Forgive us for thinking she was there to serve us at the appropriate time. The food was average but we were definitely made to feel as though we were an inconvenience.

We checked out earlier than we planned and on check out there was no apology for our disturbed night, moreover we were told that we should have known this as they sent an email. I did not receive any such email.

We did not expect luxury but we did expect that when you book a bed for the night you can actually sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glitterchick1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Avoid at all costs! Rooms are falling apart (gaffer tape on tables), awful smell and sleeping at night is difficult with a nightclub going on underneath the rooms. Recommending this place would be a cruel thing to do.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews