We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Every visit helps seals!

A lovely smallish collection of animals as well as the seals. Everyone looked happy and healthy... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
dianne m
,
manchester
via mobile
Good place

Visited on a Sunday in July whilst on holiday in Chapel St Leonards. Unfortunately the 3 year old... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Krabbykittykat
,
Durham, United Kingdom
Read all 2,437 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Skegness
from US$141.11
More Info
Reviews (2,437)
Filter reviews
2,437 results
Traveller rating
1,590
590
189
46
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,590
590
189
46
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly house feeding times fish farm animals couple of hours gift shop few hours guinea pigs worth a visit great place to visit an aquarium small place keep up the good work entrance fee value for money lovely afternoon sea life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,437 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Not large but what there is, is well done and all the animals are well-cared for. A decent array of varied animals for a small place from crocodiles (small), piranhas to alpacas and a lovely indoor butterfly and bird aviary.

It's saving lives of orphaned and ill seals so is a worthy cause.

We were concerned to read previous reviews about the penguin enclosure and almost didn't go as a result. Whilst the enclosure is not large, it felt ample for 4 penguins. The water in the penguin pool was clean and clear when we visited. I wonder if the couple of previous reviewers who raised concerns mistook where the base had turned orange as dirt, when it was just how the surround had reacted to the water over time.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank MK_Foodie_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Guest Relations Manager at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi there, Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate your support and so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We think that they have mistaken the base colour as dirt, however we are planning redevelopments for our penguin pool, we have had our zoo licence inspection this year and they told us that our animals look happy and well cared for. Thank you so much for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Please do not go unless you are a member of the RSPCA. They give the impression that it's a sanctuary for seals, but all we could see was very sad animals, no enrichment, tiny pools or tanks (for example, the moray eel's tank provided no room for it to swim, the penguins are in a tiny pool with rusty water, alpacas had a tiny bit of grass). It's run down, expensive and we just felt so sorry for the animals. Places like this should not be open.

Date of experience: August 2021
2  Thank ladyjayne_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Guest Relations Manager at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi, we rescue, rehabilitate and release seals, so we are a sanctuary. We have had our zoo licence inspection for this year and they told us that our animals look very happy and well cared for. We also welcome members of the RSPCA as visitors and they all have a lovely day out with their families.

We are planning developments for this winter hopefully, but do not worry! Our animals happiness and health are our main priority and if at any point they were unhappy or unhealthy we will do our best to correct this. Thank you for your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

took our granddaughter to natureland today and was very disapointed . £25 for two seniors and a 6 year old, they advertise a petting zoo with chickens, rabbits etc but all we got was a couple of goats, there were 4 penguins, a hand full of seals, 4 alpackers and a couple of meerkats and thats your lot. The aquarium had a few empty tanks. Our granddaughter was very disapointed.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 491pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Guest Relations Manager at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi there, I am not sure whether you saw an advert for another animal attraction as we do not advertise as a petting zoo. You can feed our goat, sheep and alpacas! We have 5 resident seals and quite a few babies in our hospital so I am concerned that you did not see all that we have to offer at Natureland, a couple of our tanks in the aquarium are under maintenance, we do have to let them stand for a few weeks before we are able to pop some fish in, we are very sorry that your granddaughter was disappointed. May I suggest Hardy's animal farm if you would like a farm park with animal petting?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Whilst it was entertaining to watch the seals sliding around in their pool, I was concerned by the lack of enrichment for them - just a small, concrete pool, no rocks etc. Felt the same way about the penguins. Whilst I applaud their efforts to rescue and rehabilitate seals, I can't help feeling sorry for the permanent residents, whose enclosure leaves a lot to be desired.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Guest Relations Manager at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi, We had our zoo licence inspection this year, to which they said that all of our animals look happy and well cared for. We do provide enrichment during our feeding times, and they absolutely love sliding on the ramp when the pool is drained. Our penguins are perfectly happy where they are, they show no signs of distress and are all in a very good conditions, our oldest penguin is Pip who is 31, African penguins life expectancy in the wild is 20 years and in captivity up to 30 years, he also still tries to peck your wellies if you get too close, so he has a lot of fight in him, if that isn't a healthy penguin I don't know what is! We are planning developments over the winter hopefully, but thank you for your concern, do not worry, our animals health is the most important thing to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

This is a fantastic morning activity. Close to plenty of things. Great for all the family. We loved the butterflies. Superb!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Guest Relations Manager at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi Claire, thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, we really do appreciate your support so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews