We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80th Birthday party”
Review of Banquet Chinese

Banquet Chinese
Reserve with OpenTable
Banquet Chinese is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 526 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$93
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Banquet Chinese is a restaurant and venue unlike any other found in Colchester or North Essex today. This is Chinese food the way it is meant to be experienced! Our mouth-watering dishes are cooked to perfection by award-winning chefs using only the freshest and finest ingredients. The interior has been carefully chosen and imported from China to create a genuine and sophisticated yet relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy your lunch or evening meal, perhaps together with a bottle of wine from the well rounded wine list supplied by Enotria World Wines. Please take some time to familiarise yourself with Banquet Chinese here on our website. Have a look at our menus and wine lists. Read about Dim Sum, the delicious little dishes perfect as starters or as a light and sophisticated lunch time meal.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a party of 14 for my birthday party. The food and service were excellent. The restaurant has recently changed management and we were concerned the previous high standards would not be maintained. However we have eaten there a couple of times since the change and food and service is just as good.
We consider this is one of the best Chinese restaurants, certainly in the Colchester area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi David W,

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you have found that standards have been maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The management of Banquet has changed since January and the standard of cooking does not seem to be as good as it was.

We have visited twice in the last few weeks and been disappointed; maybe changes in chefs, maybe changes in policy but we will give it a miss for a while. A great pity really because it was the best Chinese experience in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickB1445XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear nickB1445XO,

Thanks for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your last couple of visits to us.

As stated in earlier responses, the vast majority of existing and new customers have left positive reviews.

While we will inevitably make changes and hopefully improvements over time, the majority of the staff are the existing team. Perhaps most importantly, our restaurant manager, Ken and our Head Chef.

If you would like to contact us via email on info@banquetchinese.co.uk, we would like to know more about the issues you had with your meal/s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve wanted to come here for years and just never got round to going. I’m so glad we booked it for a father’s day meal!

It was very busy, but this didn’t impact on the service or quality of food. The waiting staff were very good and appeared to work well as a team in the busy environment.

We ordered some of our food from the set menu and then other dishes from the menu for the children. There was so much food, we ended up taking some home. The food was fantastic and the children really enjoyed their visit too.

I look forward to returning again soon!!

Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Melanie K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

So glad you enjoyed your meal on what is one of our busiest days of the year.

We are also pleased that the children enjoyed their visit. It's been really nice to welcome so many families in to the restaurant recently, as it is a huge part of our culture to dine as a family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

This is hands down the best chinese in Colchester, its really authentic and in a different league from anywhere else.

1  Thank JamessMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jamessmatthewgurney,

Thank you for your review and glad to hear your positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I took my husband here for a birthday meal. There was a nice atmosphere when we arrived, nice surroundings and the staff were friendly. I came here expecting an upscale Chinese. Unfortunately the food was REALLY bland, so bland we didn’t even want to put the leftovers in a doggy bag.

So many people have recommended this restaurant but it’s no better than an average Chinese takeaway. I will never eat here again, a waste of £115, it makes me cry!!

1  Thank sukiwoo1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, Owner at Banquet Chinese, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sukiwoo1804,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit, as you can see from the majority of the reviews prior to yours, most people have had only very positive comments. The fact that many people have recommended our restaurant to you is perhaps indicative of this.

If you would like to contact us via email on info@banquetchinese.co.uk, we would like to know more about the issues you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banquet Chinese also viewed

 
Layer de la Haye, Colchester
 

Been to Banquet Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing