We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$194
Hotels.comUS$194
PricelineUS$195
eDreamsUS$184
CheapTicketsUS$194
TravelocityUS$194
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
264
53
15
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
53
15
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room banks of the river stately home honesty bar english country fly fishing home cooking open fire local produce resident dog fluffy towels other guests pleasure of staying a wonderful place to stay warm welcome comfortable rooms bed and breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2021

What a blissful place to stay. Only stayed one night on the way back from Scotland. If I had known it was this good I would have stayed for a long weekend at least, maybe a week. It really does feel like being a friend of the household staying as a guest. A genuine big private country house. Dog friendly and a very friendly dog (Rhubarb) doing meet'n'greet'n. Big comfortable rooms. Views of the river and fields. Food was first class, easily as good as top London places. I would definitely recommend it to friends and will be staying there again if I am in the area.

Room tip: They all seem pretty good. We were in the Birdies Suite - views of the river and gardens.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickwG5825ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021

Well what a find ! Beautiful place and lovely host! Comfy bed, fantastic full English Breakfast . Nicest coffee I have ever tasted ! Well worth staying here and taking in the surroundings and hospitality in this fabulous country home ❤️

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank ju1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2021

Definitely “Monty Python” with the American proprietor playing John Cleese! Booking system, a shamble with lost bookings, wrong booking and don’t expect the room you booked. Odd, the proprietor sits at a desk in the drawing room quietly listening to her guests, even though she has an office nearby! Proprietor also has an extensive vocabulary of excuses! Rooms vary greatly with the best room being lovely but the worst is damp! Three course dinner at a fixed £36 plus extra for coffee is expensive with no options for one or two courses. Overcharge on check-out. Pity as a lovely setting and comfortable public areas – however we shall avoid when staying in the area next time.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms away from main building.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 969clivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here December 2020, Val, Nick and her team could not have been better hosts, their home is just stunning! Room was fantastic, (The River Suite), with outstanding views, Food was delicious and topped of by the roaring fire.... can't wait to go back ❤️

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Safctilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2020

We stayed here for two nights based on the TA reviews and the fact that the area was in tier 2 which helped us reduce our search area and find somewhere new. The property is stunning and exactly to our taste being both grand but also warm and welcoming. Every member of staff we came across was just delightful and so friendly and Val the owner was just fantastic. Such a lovely, hardworking and kind lady I could have spent all day just talking to her. Our room (River Suite) was excellent, great facilities and the views of the river were to die for. Our kitchen was stocked with coffee, tea bags and fresh milk in the fridge. Really nice toiletries in the bathrooms with robes and a super powerful power shower. We walked each day and then came back and lit the open fire for cosy nights in after a lovely meal nearby. Just what we needed to relax and unwind in these crazy pandemic times that we now live in. If I could I would be there every weekend but without doubt we will be revisiting again and again as the place and people just captivated us from start to end.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G1291BZpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews