We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$216
Hotels.comUS$216
eDreamsUS$215
CheapTicketsUS$216
TravelocityUS$216
Orbitz.comUS$216
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
259
53
14
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
53
14
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room banks of the river stately home honesty bar english country fly fishing home cooking open fire local produce resident dog fluffy towels other guests pleasure of staying a wonderful place to stay warm welcome comfortable rooms bed and breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overlooking the River Eden, in beautiful seclusion, large light rooms, nothing is too much trouble. With the most magnificent meals, and flexible to our every need. To visit once is just not enough!
Thank you team, Extraordinary!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 193richf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a superb breakfast with friends. The food was superb, quality produce makes for good eating. Two of our party had traditional English breakfast and were very impressed, particularly liked the sausages. One had french toast with bacon and maple syrup, delicious. I had eggs royals, with smoked salmon and homemade hollandaise sauce. We all had toast with wonderful homemade marmalade. A veritable feast. One reprobate also indulged in a Bloody Mary !

Can’t wait for the restaurant to open to the public for lunch or dinner. I will be the first to book.

Room tip: Pick a room with a river view
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julien649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful position and could be lovely but is in need of a bit of tidying up in the reception and entrance hall - first impression was not very good. Our room was large with lovely views and the bed was comfortable, the furniture was a bit random and you could hear quite a lot of tv and movements from the next door rooms. The bathroom had been redone recently and looked ok, but the water pressure in the shower was weak. Dinner and breakfast were good but slow and no espresso. My main complaint was there were dogs everywhere, upstairs, in reception and in the dining room. The hotel dog was constantly roaming around the tables at dinner and breakfast and barking occasionally.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight en route to Scotland and it was a pleasure . Set on the banks of the River Eden in beautifully maintained grounds this hotel is the perfect place to have a rest. An impressive sweeping staircase winds from the entrance hall up stairs to the 9 bedrooms . Ours was dual aspect with views over the River and was very spacious and tastefully decorated
The owner was delightful and made you feel at home immediately . Rhubarb the dog greets you and is very friendly .
We took a walk round the walled garden which was in full bloom and housed dozens of bee hives .
Before dinner we had a drink in the drawing room ( complete with honesty bar ) and then in to the dining room for dinner .
The food was delicious and we had a table by the window to enjoy the views .
All in all a great find and we would happily return .

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulnjude2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Everything you could possibly want. Elegant, enormous, tastefully decorated rooms, luxurious beds, kind, thoughtful and attentive staff, superb food, and all set in the most magical, tranquil grounds on the Eden river. Val Marriner skilfully and charmingly runs this wonderful place and is a most kind and gracious host. I’ve enjoyed every minute I’ve spent here. Highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank APV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews