We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Turf! The place to come!”

Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern
Ranked #3 of 45 Quick Bites in Carlisle
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

The Turf! Some place come 3/4 times a week love it. Good substantial meals and pints with the footy. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Haddock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Hi Haddock17

Thank you for your positive 5 star review. Im glad you enjoy coming here for the footy and definitely pints. We can’t wait To see you again soon.

Yarn , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

Yarn has been absolutely amazing! He’s a great host in and out of work!
I usually come in with my partner and group of friends, we love coming in to the pub for the quizzes on a Sunday night. With the new restrictions they are always able to have on on tables close to each other which is very much appreciated.
During lockdown, doing Yarns quiz online has definitely kept us sane.
Upon returning as a customer it’s great to see staff are ensuring we are keeping safe distances, wearing face masks, and sanitizer is stationed throughout the pub.
Food is always amazing and definitely great value for money.
Thankyou so much for your service.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Ichigox020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Hi Ichigox020

Thank you for your very kind review. We all work as a team here so it’s great that shows. I’m so pleased you enjoy our food and we appreciate your custom. The quizzes will still keep coming regardless of lockdowns.
Thank you for your 5 star review and we can’t wait to see you again.

Yarn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Well come back to the turf after lock down and all I can say is the staff was amazing and so was the food never felt so happy and safe in a place like this all that’s all thanks to faith with her amazing attitude to work and putting customers befor her well done faitb

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Liuwoods99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Hi Liuwoods99

Thank you so much for you review. And especially as it was 5 stars. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your food and ill be sure to pass on you kind comments to faith.

Thank you again

Yarn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Went to hungry horse yesterday after work and the food was amazing as always . I got to the front desk and was greeted by Faith with a big smile on her face making me feel safe and welcoming and asking how I would like to order my food,after she had taken me me to my seat she was more than happy to try and answer all my questions I had about the menu ect... all the staff was amazing and the turf was amazing but I think faith was amazing at what she.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Reiisco9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Hi Reiisco9

Thank you so much for your 5 star review . In glad you enjoyed your stay . I’ll be sure to pass on the amazing comments on faith .
We can’t wait to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Yarn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Returned to Hungry Horse (The Turf) today for the first time since lockdown lifted .... very well managed , perfectly clean , food and staff amazing as always! Keep up the good work guys ... you are doing it just right!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank MissDebs_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Hi MissDebs_xx

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and so please that you gave is 5 stars. We can’t wait to see you when you next return and thank you For this review

Yarn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.