We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #38 of 441 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This 19th Century traditional family run Inn is situated in the Castle Quay part of Bedford, close to the River Ouse and Bedford's Cecil Higgins Museum, five minutes walk to Bedford Blues ground and just a few minutes walk from the main Bedford High Street. The Castle is your village pub in the centre of town, we offer a warm, relaxing and friendly welcome as well as freshly prepared home cooked food, traditional Sunday Roast, fine wines, and eight regularly changing cask ales. There is an enclosed outside courtyard area for the summer months, as well as a large car park. Dogs are welcome in the pub outside of food times.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Great local beer, well kept in a small but well presented location. Food is excellent and service is friendly - doubly so if you are friendly. Good place to make a local if you live in Bedford

Thank AJohnCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to review The Castle and your lovely comments we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Lovely sunday roast in a friendly well run pub with good beer and good service for a reasonable price ! Lunch and dinner are good value and we will be back again and again !

1  Thank gary131070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to write great comments about The Castle we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Can NOT rate this place higher. Anywhere that puts up with my drunken antics and actually melts the cheese on cheesey chips gets my gold star of approval any day!
Also, the bar ladies are fabulous and v good at pouring wine, the food is always spot on, and company is wonderful X

Thank chezpoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your great comments about The Castle we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Easter Sunday lunch at the Castle was wonderful. Excellent food wonderfully cooked and presented. Great friendly atmosphere and a joy to experience. Staff fantastically accommodating and a big thumbs-up to those in the kitchen. Bedfords REAL traditional pub and a hidden gem!

1  Thank derekcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

So pleased you had a wonderful lunch with us, we aim to please all our customers and look forward to welcoming you back very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Just called in for a beer but looks to have lots of promise. The place looks to have been recently renovated and now offers accommodation. We will try them out. The range of beers looked good and they had a decent menu so must try both.

Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your comments, yes we have had a refurbishment in 2014 of both our accommodation rooms and pub, and more recently now had our lovely courtyard garden make over.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, maybe to Eat, Drink and Sleep
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing