We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunchtime food”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #29 of 443 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This 19th Century traditional family run Inn is situated in the Castle Quay part of Bedford, close to the River Ouse and Bedford's Cecil Higgins Museum, five minutes walk to Bedford Blues ground and just a few minutes walk from the main Bedford High Street. The Castle is your village pub in the centre of town, we offer a warm, relaxing and friendly welcome as well as freshly prepared home cooked food, traditional Sunday Roast, fine wines, and eight regularly changing cask ales. There is an enclosed outside courtyard area for the summer months, as well as a large car park. Dogs are welcome in the pub outside of food times.
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I had a midweek lunch here last week with a group of 4 friends . Can't fault the food in anyway. I had a delicious bacon and brie hot baguette which was truly delicious. My friends all enjoyed their meals too. Prompt and friendly service. Nothing too much trouble and just all round great with lovely staff..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Polford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to review The Castle your comments and feedback are really appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Having made it to the tender age of 60, I decided (and was allowed) to celebrate my birthday the other Saturday evening here. Stunning. Amazing. Great atmosphere. Who needs a big hall? Outstanding buffet, excellent music, stupendous staff that looked after us tremendously well. The landlord really knows how to put on a party without things going too silly. HUGE thanks to all. Here's to me 70th!!! Absolute stars- the lot of you.

Thank derekcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to spend and help make you your special birthday an evening not to be forgotten, especially with the edition of all the guys wearing crazy shirts !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Again amazing Sunday lunch, good selection of veg, "proper" meat. Definitely recommend...may have to book though as it get busy - no surprise there! Very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank izzy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to review The Castle, your lovely comments are really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We had heard elsewhere on social media that the Sunday roast here was good so thought we would give it a go.
My first thing to say is - Make sure you book! it is so popular you will not be able to just walk in and have the Sunday roast, which is a good sign in itself.
My husband ordered the Roast Beef and I ordered the Roast Pork - both incredible price at only £8.95 each. We both like 'home cooked food' and we were not disappointed. This was amazing. The veg was fresh and really well cooked with carrots, roast potatoes, mash, broccoli, savoy cabbage and cauliflower cheese - both meals also came with Yorkshire Pudding which was great as so often you only get one with the Beef.
My pork was moist, tender and tasted beautiful - the crackling perfect. In addition to this the gravy was tasty and the whole dinner was HOT. This is great because so often meals are served luke warm.
We finished this off with homemade bread and butter pudding which tasted just how my nan used to make it.
All in all a great traditional homemade roast dinner.. the best we have had for some time! they could easily justify it being £9.95 at least! Thank you and we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivere16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle, and your kind comments about our Traditional Sunday Roasts we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Only disappointment was that for three of us our first choice was not available and didn't learn this til about 10 mins after we ordered
The food we did all have was very nice and reasonably priced.

Thank StuABedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleBedford, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to review The Castle, i can only apologise that your first choice was unavailable but we had been very busy that Sunday with lots of lunches. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing