We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room & great welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here on our 2nd to last night of our Highlands of Scotland motorbike tour. Great central location, plenty of parking in public square opposite but our bikes were welcomed onto their private gated driveway which gave us additional security (not that you need it up here!).

A lovely historic building, furnished very comfortably and in really nice colours. Darroch room, with super king bed, is supposedly the smallest room but it was very large and plenty big enough for 2 biker plus bulky bike panniers! We didn't see the other rooms but they must have been enormous if ours was the smallest double. A very good sleep.

Breakfast was disappointing, despite the wonderful views. We booked for 8.30am and were on time, but the breakfast wasn't hot. The sausages, bacon and haggis were lukewarm, the (hard) poached egg slightly warmer but still not as if it had just been cooked. I ate the egg (and bacon as that was cooked OK) but asked for the rest to be zapped in the microwave as the sausage was very pale looking and the underside of the haggis was virtually uncooked. This was done for us both with no issue (but no apology either). I've no idea why this happened as all other reviews appear to rave about the breakfast! Still, the rest of the stay was fantastic so it wouldn't put us off recommending to others, nor put us off a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyberhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your review.We are pleased you enjoyed your room and found it value for money for the rate you paid.At breakfast you let it be known that you did not normally take breakfast and did not require cereals etc. just a small portion of cooked breakfast which was served to you with a reminder the plates were hot.Four other guests served breakfast after you had finished and had plates taken away before you asked to have your breakfast re-heated at 08.50 hrs.No other issues were raised from other guests,quite the contrary.Your breakfast was probed before it left the kitchen and the temperature was found to be within the correct parameters.It was noticed that you stopped eating on several occasions and layed down your knife and fork.With the best will in the world food will go cold after 20mins.On check-out you were asked if all was o.k. and replied in the affirmative.Please also note haggis does vary in colour from butcher to butcher some are pale and some dark in appearance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is a very nice place to stay. For whatever reason, we were upgraded - at no extra cost - to a very large room with an en-suite bathroom that was almost the same size of our entire room in Edinburgh. Amanda and Martin were very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast was indeed a delight. I don't know what the other B&B's in Ballater are like, but I don't think you can get any better than this one, especially for the price. Tip: Book a restaurant early.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review.Many times we have upgraded guests to the feature room if it is still available on arrival ,especially if a standard room had been booked well in advance.Many guests appreciate the breakfasts both for the quality and attention to detail as well.We are very pleased you found us good value for money for all the extra touches we provide.Thank you again for your valued custom and hope to see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here during our coast to coast mountain biking trip and found it to be the best guest house/B&B that we have stayed in. We could not fault it in any way and Martin and Amanda have just the right approach to make the stay perfect. What more can we say other than you HAVE to stay here if you are in the Ballater area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashandiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your very large ensuite room and enjoyed the whirpool bath to ease your muscles after a long days mountain biking.Thank you again for your valued custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Martin and Amanda made us feel very welcome during our recent stay, and we would heartily recommend the Gordon Guest House. The views from the Glenshee Room were excellent over Ballater and across to Lochnagar. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and freshly made.
Martin was a mine of local information about things to see. Try Burn O' Vat, the walk around the town and Craiegivar Castle for starters.
Had a disappointing meal at the Italian La Mangiatoia. Food was excellent, but service was dour to say the least - it doesn't cost anything to smile...
We will definitely be back.
Steve and Flora Mahr

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are both pleased you liked the ensuite room and you enjoyed the views from both windows.The quality and choice of breakfast are enjoyed by our guests.The Burn o' Vat has been a popular hidden gem for decades, now being part of Muir of Dinnet National Nature Reserve.We are glad our hospitality was apprecieted by you both.Thank you for your valued custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The room was large, lovely and clean and with everything you could need supplied. The Balmoral had a comfortable loveseat to lounge on and a big comfortable bed. There is lots of parking right outside the door and breakfast was wonderful and kept us going toll afternoon tea. There is a great pub with good meal just a few doors away around the corner. The hosts at the Gordon went out of the way getting us directions and information for our daily excursions. Great value for money at this B&B!

Room Tip: Balmoral was large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Thank you for your review.Many guests compliment us on our breakfasts and the fact that all items are served to you,so nice to relax and be waited on whilst on holiday.The dining room itself on the first floor affords views out from all three windows.We were both born and raised in the North East of Scotland and can pass on this extensive knowledge for day drives etc. Thank you for your valued custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
644 reviews
9.3 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
373 reviews
15.0 km away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
22.9 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
289 reviews
0.5 km away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing