We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Loch Kinord Hotel(Dinnet)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 45(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld Kirk Hotel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballater Hostel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Lui Hotel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morven Lodge(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
428
50
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
50
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamanda and martinbalmoral roombreakfast was excellentwarm welcomefruit saladfull scottishbreakfast room islovely hostsbiscuitsporridgestayed one nightlovely roomfeel very welcomefirst floortop qualitybalmoral castlea lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Old Victorian house filled with all the welcome of home. Lovely dining room, lovely breakfast and very competent and welcoming hosts, highly recommended and what an interesting town Ballater is....plus the good restaurants ...will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked our dining room with its three windows offering different view of the village.We source our breakfast produce from Scottish and Aberdeenshire suppliers where possible.We are glad you liked our hospitality and enjoyed Ballater itself.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Lovely decor, large spacious rooms and bath, wonderful breakfasts served in a splendid dining room with a beautiful table setting--definitely felt pampered! Amanda was extremely friendly and helpful in recommendations, even providing detailed maps for us.. We would highly recommend this charming house in Ballater area. FYI- there are several floors of steps, free parking is just steps away, and walking to local restaurants is a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boisekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback of our large Balmoral ensuite room.As we are a 4 star Guest House we adhere to Q.A. guidelines to ensure we have the correct quality of towels,carpets,bedding etc. and again passed our secret inspection this year.Very pleased you enjoyed your time in our large Victorian era building.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The Gordon is the upper floors of an old Victorian band directly opposite the railway station. This being rebuilt after a fire and it will then be restored as a valuable tourist attraction. Parking is on an off road public car park directly opposite the accommodation. The entrance hall and staircase are sumptuous and reveal Martin's attention to decorative detail. No guest lounge but our room, Balfluig, had a reclining settee and views of the surrounding hills. We have slept in rooms smaller than the ensuite which is exceptionally well equipped with top quality fittings. Breakfast is ordered the evening before to ensure you have no wait in the morning. Martin prepared breakfast that is as good as it gets, and Amanda throws in different speciality breads every morning from a baker who is Royally Appointed. The views from the first floor bedroom, together with the fabulous breakfast, are a great encouragement to get out and enjoy the day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked your two night stay in our large Balfluig ensuite room.We try hard to maintain the Guest House and reinvest every year to keep up the quality.All our rooms have sofa's and many previous guests have liked to relax and watch t.v. in comfort.We source breakfast produce from Scottish suppliers where possible.Our independent artisan bread maker does supply a nearby Castle coffee shop with her produce.Thank you for your custom and look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I would highly recommend staying at The Gordon Guest House. Martin and Amanda were welcoming and kind and were very happy to share their excellent knowledge of the local area. The room was a great size, warm and comfortable and included all of the facilities you would expect and more. Breakfast was delicious and so generous that we were able to take some away for our lunch on both days, which Amanda was more than happy to accommodate. We loved staying here and would not hesitate to return if we were in the area again. The lovely hosts seem to have thought of everything!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0rdankennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review of your two night stay in our Darroch ensuite room.We are pleased you had a memorable time with us in Ballater Village and appreciated our help to find interesting places to visit in Royal Deeside and surrounding area.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Gordon. I was given a very warm welcome, I found the guest house to be extremely comfortable. The owners are extremely friendly, and have clearly taken seriously what their guests want, from the great breakfast choices, to weather information, local maps and USB chargers. I had a comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities. I'd come again if I wanted to stay in Ballater.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of our Darroch ensuite room.Over the last eleven years of running our central Guest House we have used advice from our Q.A. inspectors and past guests to improve our service.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews