We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming Guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Lovely Guest House, Room well decorated with en suite. from the moment we entered our hosts were very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We asked for a breakfast slightly earlier than normal and this was gladly done. Guest house in good location, parking close, nice décor, good breakfast and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: In the Balmoral room with views to the front and side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for your opinion of our very large Balmoral ensuite room with super king-size bed, large flat screen t.v. and a large sofa for our guests comfort.As you booked two nights during Ballater Walking Festival we had other rooms booked well in advance for seven nights and perhaps blocked a room more suitable to your needs. Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Old Victorian house filled with all the welcome of home. Lovely dining room, lovely breakfast and very competent and welcoming hosts, highly recommended and what an interesting town Ballater is....plus the good restaurants ...will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked our dining room with its three windows offering different view of the village.We source our breakfast produce from Scottish and Aberdeenshire suppliers where possible.We are glad you liked our hospitality and enjoyed Ballater itself.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Lovely decor, large spacious rooms and bath, wonderful breakfasts served in a splendid dining room with a beautiful table setting--definitely felt pampered! Amanda was extremely friendly and helpful in recommendations, even providing detailed maps for us.. We would highly recommend this charming house in Ballater area. FYI- there are several floors of steps, free parking is just steps away, and walking to local restaurants is a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boisekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback of our large Balmoral ensuite room.As we are a 4 star Guest House we adhere to Q.A. guidelines to ensure we have the correct quality of towels,carpets,bedding etc. and again passed our secret inspection this year.Very pleased you enjoyed your time in our large Victorian era building.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The Gordon is the upper floors of an old Victorian band directly opposite the railway station. This being rebuilt after a fire and it will then be restored as a valuable tourist attraction. Parking is on an off road public car park directly opposite the accommodation. The entrance hall and staircase are sumptuous and reveal Martin's attention to decorative detail. No guest lounge but our room, Balfluig, had a reclining settee and views of the surrounding hills. We have slept in rooms smaller than the ensuite which is exceptionally well equipped with top quality fittings. Breakfast is ordered the evening before to ensure you have no wait in the morning. Martin prepared breakfast that is as good as it gets, and Amanda throws in different speciality breads every morning from a baker who is Royally Appointed. The views from the first floor bedroom, together with the fabulous breakfast, are a great encouragement to get out and enjoy the day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked your two night stay in our large Balfluig ensuite room.We try hard to maintain the Guest House and reinvest every year to keep up the quality.All our rooms have sofa's and many previous guests have liked to relax and watch t.v. in comfort.We source breakfast produce from Scottish suppliers where possible.Our independent artisan bread maker does supply a nearby Castle coffee shop with her produce.Thank you for your custom and look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I would highly recommend staying at The Gordon Guest House. Martin and Amanda were welcoming and kind and were very happy to share their excellent knowledge of the local area. The room was a great size, warm and comfortable and included all of the facilities you would expect and more. Breakfast was delicious and so generous that we were able to take some away for our lunch on both days, which Amanda was more than happy to accommodate. We loved staying here and would not hesitate to return if we were in the area again. The lovely hosts seem to have thought of everything!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0rdankennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review of your two night stay in our Darroch ensuite room.We are pleased you had a memorable time with us in Ballater Village and appreciated our help to find interesting places to visit in Royal Deeside and surrounding area.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
647 reviews
22.9 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
291 reviews
15 km away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
374 reviews
22.1 km away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
0.5 km away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $123 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing