We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

It is easy to see why The Gordon is the number 1 guest house in Ballater. The warm welcome, high standards of comfort, cleanliness, decor and delicious breakfasts are the reasons we have been booking here for the past 11 years. Although we know the area very well, Martin and Amanda have first hand knowledge about everything in this part of Aberdeenshire and can tell you anything from local history to places to visit, etc. Thanks to them we are always discovering new walks and places of interest. Our stays here are over far too quickly! Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: The Balmoral and Glenshee rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twosisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for your custom again.We are very pleased you liked our large Balmoral ensuite room.Like yourselves many previous guests have fully understood the requirements for a 4 star Guest House and our high attention to detail resulting in repeat customers who fully appreciate our hospitality and the quality of breakfasts. Thank you very much for your valued custom and look forward to your return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

My husband and I traveled through England and Scotland in May. We are both retired, so our perspective on this review may be slightly different from others. This hotel is located in the town of Ballater, a good location for visiting Balmoral Castle. The building is Victorian, with the living quarters above the shops that front the street on the ground floor. We were given a light, airy, corner room on the second floor (3rd for Americans). This gave us views of the town and surrounding mountain forests. The weather was warm, so we opened windows on both walls and got wonderful cross ventilation. There is a trick to closing the windows. Each window has a release button on the left side of the window. Press this button without putting pressure on the window. The release has worked when the window swings toward the frame. Then close the window. The bed has a very firm mattress with a top sheet, comforter, and spread: good layers for sleeping in comfort. We each have CPAP machines to use while we sleep. Therefore, bedside tables and power outlets are important to use. This room had a bedside table on each side of the bed. We found power outlets across the room. The bath was a reasonably sized room with a shower and tub combination. There were a reasonable amount of surfaces for personal toiletries. Internet connectivity is important to us. The Wi-Fi speed was 19Mbps download and 16Mbps upload, which means very fast indeed. This room had coffee/tea making facilities were easy to access and well organized. Parking for our car was in a public car park immediately across the street. This car park has a 30-40-car capacity. The staff, Martin and Amanda, was very helpful and cheerful. Amanda serves and Martin cooks. Breakfast: Select breakfast and time the night before. Tables are assigned (there are no markers, so ask) 1st course is already on the table, if selected, when you come down. The hot course comes in good order. There are different breads served each day. Amanda assigns the tables by room (and changes them every day).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pbguceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your opinion on your stay in our large Balmoral ensuite room in our Guest House which was built around 1856.We always ask guests on leaving if there was any issues to enable us to correct anything for future guests.Before booking if contacted we would be more than happy to advise guests on the room most suited to their needs.Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Lovely Guest House, Room well decorated with en suite. from the moment we entered our hosts were very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We asked for a breakfast slightly earlier than normal and this was gladly done. Guest house in good location, parking close, nice décor, good breakfast and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: In the Balmoral room with views to the front and side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for your opinion of our very large Balmoral ensuite room with super king-size bed, large flat screen t.v. and a large sofa for our guests comfort.As you booked two nights during Ballater Walking Festival we had other rooms booked well in advance for seven nights and perhaps blocked a room more suitable to your needs. Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Old Victorian house filled with all the welcome of home. Lovely dining room, lovely breakfast and very competent and welcoming hosts, highly recommended and what an interesting town Ballater is....plus the good restaurants ...will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked our dining room with its three windows offering different view of the village.We source our breakfast produce from Scottish and Aberdeenshire suppliers where possible.We are glad you liked our hospitality and enjoyed Ballater itself.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Lovely decor, large spacious rooms and bath, wonderful breakfasts served in a splendid dining room with a beautiful table setting--definitely felt pampered! Amanda was extremely friendly and helpful in recommendations, even providing detailed maps for us.. We would highly recommend this charming house in Ballater area. FYI- there are several floors of steps, free parking is just steps away, and walking to local restaurants is a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boisekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback of our large Balmoral ensuite room.As we are a 4 star Guest House we adhere to Q.A. guidelines to ensure we have the correct quality of towels,carpets,bedding etc. and again passed our secret inspection this year.Very pleased you enjoyed your time in our large Victorian era building.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
644 reviews
9.3 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
373 reviews
15.0 km away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
22.9 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
289 reviews
0.5 km away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing