We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
435
50
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
50
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amanda and martin balmoral room breakfast was excellent warm welcome spa bath full scottish central location perfect hosts porridge stayed one night lovely room feel very welcome ensuite bathroom first floor top quality dining room balmoral castle
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

My husband and I traveled through England and Scotland in May. We are both retired, so our perspective on this review may be slightly different from others. This hotel is located in the town of Ballater, a good location for visiting Balmoral Castle. The building is Victorian, with the living quarters above the shops that front the street on the ground floor. We were given a light, airy, corner room on the second floor (3rd for Americans). This gave us views of the town and surrounding mountain forests. The weather was warm, so we opened windows on both walls and got wonderful cross ventilation. There is a trick to closing the windows. Each window has a release button on the left side of the window. Press this button without putting pressure on the window. The release has worked when the window swings toward the frame. Then close the window. The bed has a very firm mattress with a top sheet, comforter, and spread: good layers for sleeping in comfort. We each have CPAP machines to use while we sleep. Therefore, bedside tables and power outlets are important to use. This room had a bedside table on each side of the bed. We found power outlets across the room. The bath was a reasonably sized room with a shower and tub combination. There were a reasonable amount of surfaces for personal toiletries. Internet connectivity is important to us. The Wi-Fi speed was 19Mbps download and 16Mbps upload, which means very fast indeed. This room had coffee/tea making facilities were easy to access and well organized. Parking for our car was in a public car park immediately across the street. This car park has a 30-40-car capacity. The staff, Martin and Amanda, was very helpful and cheerful. Amanda serves and Martin cooks. Breakfast: Select breakfast and time the night before. Tables are assigned (there are no markers, so ask) 1st course is already on the table, if selected, when you come down. The hot course comes in good order. There are different breads served each day. Amanda assigns the tables by room (and changes them every day).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pbguceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your opinion on your stay in our large Balmoral ensuite room in our Guest House which was built around 1856.We always ask guests on leaving if there was any issues to enable us to correct anything for future guests.Before booking if contacted we would be more than happy to advise guests on the room most suited to their needs.Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Lovely Guest House, Room well decorated with en suite. from the moment we entered our hosts were very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We asked for a breakfast slightly earlier than normal and this was gladly done. Guest house in good location, parking close, nice décor, good breakfast and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: In the Balmoral room with views to the front and side of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for your opinion of our very large Balmoral ensuite room with super king-size bed, large flat screen t.v. and a large sofa for our guests comfort.As you booked two nights during Ballater Walking Festival we had other rooms booked well in advance for seven nights and perhaps blocked a room more suitable to your needs. Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Old Victorian house filled with all the welcome of home. Lovely dining room, lovely breakfast and very competent and welcoming hosts, highly recommended and what an interesting town Ballater is....plus the good restaurants ...will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked our dining room with its three windows offering different view of the village.We source our breakfast produce from Scottish and Aberdeenshire suppliers where possible.We are glad you liked our hospitality and enjoyed Ballater itself.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Lovely decor, large spacious rooms and bath, wonderful breakfasts served in a splendid dining room with a beautiful table setting--definitely felt pampered! Amanda was extremely friendly and helpful in recommendations, even providing detailed maps for us.. We would highly recommend this charming house in Ballater area. FYI- there are several floors of steps, free parking is just steps away, and walking to local restaurants is a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boisekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback of our large Balmoral ensuite room.As we are a 4 star Guest House we adhere to Q.A. guidelines to ensure we have the correct quality of towels,carpets,bedding etc. and again passed our secret inspection this year.Very pleased you enjoyed your time in our large Victorian era building.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The Gordon is the upper floors of an old Victorian band directly opposite the railway station. This being rebuilt after a fire and it will then be restored as a valuable tourist attraction. Parking is on an off road public car park directly opposite the accommodation. The entrance hall and staircase are sumptuous and reveal Martin's attention to decorative detail. No guest lounge but our room, Balfluig, had a reclining settee and views of the surrounding hills. We have slept in rooms smaller than the ensuite which is exceptionally well equipped with top quality fittings. Breakfast is ordered the evening before to ensure you have no wait in the morning. Martin prepared breakfast that is as good as it gets, and Amanda throws in different speciality breads every morning from a baker who is Royally Appointed. The views from the first floor bedroom, together with the fabulous breakfast, are a great encouragement to get out and enjoy the day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you liked your two night stay in our large Balfluig ensuite room.We try hard to maintain the Guest House and reinvest every year to keep up the quality.All our rooms have sofa's and many previous guests have liked to relax and watch t.v. in comfort.We source breakfast produce from Scottish suppliers where possible.Our independent artisan bread maker does supply a nearby Castle coffee shop with her produce.Thank you for your custom and look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews