We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well looked-after”
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Ranked #20 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We have stayed on a number of occasions and always been well looked- after. David and Rosemary are not to be faulted on their kindness and helpfulness. We discovered Brookfields because we were looking for accommodation that was wheelchair accessible and their facilities are excellent and better than many hotels that say they are accessible.

Our bedroom and en suite wet room has always been in good order, clean and tidy. The breakfasts are excellent – cooked to order- and lots of fresh coffee and toast. David as the breakfast chef could not be more obliging.

The dining room/sitting room is a lived-in space and not the pristine/sterile area that it would be in a smart hotel. We have found staying at Brookfields to be an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2014

Our experience seems very different from others on here. Rosemary and David were very welcoming. When you came into the front door you could see into a very untidy computer room with stuff all over the floor and the carpet covered in dog hair (like this all the while we were there). We were shown to our rooms the valance sheet on ours was dirty. The rooms were furnished well and looked smart. Loads of toiletries provided too. But there were also loads of cobwebs not recent ones. These were ones with dust in that had been there ages. I am terrified of spiders.There were six visible spiders when we entered the room. I remember trying to use the toilet and watching for spiders all the time. My husband killed six large ones in about three days.They also used to run across the floor at nights. We complained about spiders. Rosemary agreed there were a lot removed some and left the webs. I couldn't believe it and photographed the webs. We had a large dead moth in the coffee and tea compliments box. This did eventually get removed. There were cobwebs on artificial flowers and down the sides of the units. Beds were changed excessively but half heartedly. Bed looked as if it had been thrown together. We came home once and bed changed but dirty linen still on floor. Door unlocked lights on. Another time we ran out of toilet roll in middle of night so had to use tissues out of box. One day we had no cups, another no tea pot. It said in their literature you could put stuff in their American style fridge. I went in the kitchen there were crumbs all over the sides in the evening. The fridge had something spilled all over the door seals and near the door. There was a piece of uncovered cooked ham on a plate!!!!! Breakfast was hearty and tasty although the thought of where it had come from was off putting. The table cloth was crumby and sticky on our first day and got worse every day. I would have thought this would need a daily shake and a proper wipe, It got a half hearted wipe on Thursday.There was a flower display in the lounge where breakfast was served carnations with privet. The carnations were brown and crispy. There were also brown crispy carnations in our room on the first day. They were there for about three days. We had my dad with us and his room by comparison was clean. We have stayed all over the country and never had an experience like this. I understand this couple do a lot in the village and for the community I feel it is to the detriment of their b and b.As they are always rushing off and then you come back to no cups, tea pots or unlocked rooms with dirty linen

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzirker, Owner at Brookfields B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

We are very sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at Brookfields and posted such severe criticisms. However while you were here, other that the single spider on the first day, which can happen anywhere, you never raised one problem with us. In fact you were somewhat complimentary about the facilities, breakfasts and décor of the rooms. Although you booked knowing the cost of the rooms you thought you were entitled to a discount for staying 7 days which our website clearly shows as only applying in the period between November and February. We feel that this disappointment coloured your written judgement of us.You only paid one nights deposit up front so you could have left early if you were so disappointed with our standards. This is only the second poor rating we have had in 5 years and we believe that your photographs were not accurate of the real situation. We can only fix things when we know about them and our printed message in all our rooms asks our guests to take up any issues immediately so they can be resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting friends in the area. Were welcomed by David with a friendly smile and offer of a cream tea - gratefully accepted. Room very well equipped and clean. Great to get a kettle and tea and coffee provided, all free. Breakfasts were excellent, well cooked and huge, and provided whenever convenient to the guest. Nothing was too much trouble for David and Rosemary who are kind and generous people, always willing to go the extra mile to assist their guests. Liked breakfast being at one large oval table, where you felt like a family with the other people staying. The location is very convenient, and hope to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We had the blue room which has a large bathroom with a bath and shower. Believe the green room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were met with a friendly smile and cup of tea and cake. The room was very well equipped and spotless if a little small. However, we were changing rooms for the second night and this was excellent, spacious and again spotlessly well equipped. The owners did everything to ensure we had the breakfast we wanted and nothing was too much trouble. It was a very quiet location yet very close to Sidmouth, easily found with the clear instructions. All rooms were on the ground floor and accessible to anyone with a disability. Precise details of what is possible would be available from the very helpful owners. Further improvements are in the pipeline for a separate shower addition in the room with a step-in bath/shower. Very comfortable beds!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were very good. Bedside lamps became very hot and the switches behind the bedside d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffanddenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second stay at Brookfields (we stayed in July 2013), and it was the same first class hospitality as before. David and Rosemary really do go the extra mile for you and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Watching the Germany demolition of Brazil in David's lounge alongside a lovely gentleman from Babbacombe, Torquay, who was playing in a bowls tournament with his wife.

The only sad part of our stay, was learning that dear old Axi, the Alsatian with the personality of a big teddy bear, had died just a few weeks previously, but she had been replaced with Astra, another friendly dog, adored by both our girls.

Once again, a massive thank you to David and Rosemary for a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Salisbury67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
6.4 km away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
89 reviews
4.9 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
938 reviews
5 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
4.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
478 reviews
5 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Address: Brookfields Venn Ottery Road | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $82 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing