We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dukes(Sidmouth)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berwick House(Sidmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barn and Pinn Cottage(Sidmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Andrew and I have stayed here 6 times now, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Devon. David and Rosemary are the most welcoming people we have ever met. The room is always clean and tidy, and they always go the extra mile and make sure that you are comfortable and want for nothing. We always feel at home and are made to feel part of the family. Their knowledge about the surrounding area is very good. The breakfast, we feel is the best in Devon, and they are great conversationalists! I cannot praise them enough. Definitely 5* plus!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

Wonderful B&B great hosts, lovely and clean, they go the extra mile, they made fresh ground coffee, made us cream tea at no extra cost . The breakfast was one of the best I ever had. I would recommend to any of my family or friends and you guys looking for a great B&B in East Devon.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We have stayed on a number of occasions and always been well looked- after. David and Rosemary are not to be faulted on their kindness and helpfulness. We discovered Brookfields because we were looking for accommodation that was wheelchair accessible and their facilities are excellent and better than many hotels that say they are accessible.

Our bedroom and en suite wet room has always been in good order, clean and tidy. The breakfasts are excellent – cooked to order- and lots of fresh coffee and toast. David as the breakfast chef could not be more obliging.

The dining room/sitting room is a lived-in space and not the pristine/sterile area that it would be in a smart hotel. We have found staying at Brookfields to be an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Our experience seems very different from others on here. Rosemary and David were very welcoming. When you came into the front door you could see into a very untidy computer room with stuff all over the floor and the carpet covered in dog hair (like this all the while we were there). We were shown to our rooms the valance sheet on ours was dirty. The rooms were furnished well and looked smart. Loads of toiletries provided too. But there were also loads of cobwebs not recent ones. These were ones with dust in that had been there ages. I am terrified of spiders.There were six visible spiders when we entered the room. I remember trying to use the toilet and watching for spiders all the time. My husband killed six large ones in about three days.They also used to run across the floor at nights. We complained about spiders. Rosemary agreed there were a lot removed some and left the webs. I couldn't believe it and photographed the webs. We had a large dead moth in the coffee and tea compliments box. This did eventually get removed. There were cobwebs on artificial flowers and down the sides of the units. Beds were changed excessively but half heartedly. Bed looked as if it had been thrown together. We came home once and bed changed but dirty linen still on floor. Door unlocked lights on. Another time we ran out of toilet roll in middle of night so had to use tissues out of box. One day we had no cups, another no tea pot. It said in their literature you could put stuff in their American style fridge. I went in the kitchen there were crumbs all over the sides in the evening. The fridge had something spilled all over the door seals and near the door. There was a piece of uncovered cooked ham on a plate!!!!! Breakfast was hearty and tasty although the thought of where it had come from was off putting. The table cloth was crumby and sticky on our first day and got worse every day. I would have thought this would need a daily shake and a proper wipe, It got a half hearted wipe on Thursday.There was a flower display in the lounge where breakfast was served carnations with privet. The carnations were brown and crispy. There were also brown crispy carnations in our room on the first day. They were there for about three days. We had my dad with us and his room by comparison was clean. We have stayed all over the country and never had an experience like this. I understand this couple do a lot in the village and for the community I feel it is to the detriment of their b and b.As they are always rushing off and then you come back to no cups, tea pots or unlocked rooms with dirty linen

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzirker, Owner at Brookfields B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

We are very sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at Brookfields and posted such severe criticisms. However while you were here, other that the single spider on the first day, which can happen anywhere, you never raised one problem with us. In fact you were somewhat complimentary about the facilities, breakfasts and décor of the rooms. Although you booked knowing the cost of the rooms you thought you were entitled to a discount for staying 7 days which our website clearly shows as only applying in the period between November and February. We feel that this disappointment coloured your written judgement of us.You only paid one nights deposit up front so you could have left early if you were so disappointed with our standards. This is only the second poor rating we have had in 5 years and we believe that your photographs were not accurate of the real situation. We can only fix things when we know about them and our printed message in all our rooms asks our guests to take up any issues immediately so they can be resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting friends in the area. Were welcomed by David with a friendly smile and offer of a cream tea - gratefully accepted. Room very well equipped and clean. Great to get a kettle and tea and coffee provided, all free. Breakfasts were excellent, well cooked and huge, and provided whenever convenient to the guest. Nothing was too much trouble for David and Rosemary who are kind and generous people, always willing to go the extra mile to assist their guests. Liked breakfast being at one large oval table, where you felt like a family with the other people staying. The location is very convenient, and hope to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We had the blue room which has a large bathroom with a bath and shower. Believe the green room has a "wetroom" which would be more convenient if not as mobile as one used to be.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews