We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet portrait”
Review of The Art Room

The Art Room
Ranked #45 of 89 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The gallery is run by a local self taught artist Delia Prudence. There are various works on show and for sale along with unique gift ideas. We are also a retailer of art materials various brands. Delia accepts commissions specialty being Pet Portraits and runs workshops for beginners in watercolors and Pastels
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had a pastel portrait of two Basset Hounds from photos for our dear friends. They were delighted with the finished result. Cannot thank Delia enough. She is an extremely talented artist.
The Art Room well worth a visit, a breath of fresh air in Scarborough.

1  Thank jacqueline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Art Room, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you very much and the photo of the painting hanging on the wall was the icing on the cake. I am glad they liked the painting it was a pleasure to do as always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"art shop"
in 2 reviews
"my mum"
in 2 reviews
"delia"
in 10 reviews
"likeness"
in 3 reviews
"spital"
in 3 reviews
"photographs"
in 2 reviews
"artists"
in 7 reviews
"talented"
in 5 reviews
"capture"
in 4 reviews
"dog"
in 2 reviews
"pub"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We found the art room during a visit to Bygone Alley at the Spital Inn, Staxton, Scarborough. We were highly impressed with what was on show and asked the artist Delia if she could do a portrait of our Westie "Maverick".

We are so pleased with the result. Delia has captured him so well. We were kept informed of the progress and had the opportunity to change if we wanted.

The photo below does not fully show the colour as if looking at it directly, but it does show the skill and quality of Delia's work.

Well worth it.

John and Donna.

Thank Donnamav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Art Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. Lots of people look at Mavick in my portfolio of commissions and mention how much detail is in the painting. I am so glad you are hapoy with the outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Delia if a very talented artist she has captured 'Jack' excellently. From sending our email to collecting the finished portrait we were kept updated with the progress of the work.
Friendly and unusual place to visit for drink or ice cream we had a lovely afternoon here

Thank LesleyPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Art Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you very much for comments much appreciated we are a friendly team and think of ourselves as a family unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

A friend had my pets portrait painted by Delia from a picture on her phone..the likeness is incredible even the small things that I think only I notice..she captured him perfectly .thank you Delia x

Thank nanusharon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Art Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you fir taking time to express you view it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed here with our caravan for a few days. Pub, restaurant, art gallery, bakery, shops - what more do you want within 100 yrs of the caravan.
Delia Prudence, artist and teacher gave us a warm welcome and offered 1 to 1 tuition at a very modest price. I took advantage and came away more than pleased. My wife bought one of Delia's original's. It too was modestly priced.
We shall be going back...!

1  Thank emmsynuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Art Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay here at Scarborough sorry the weather was a bit off. Pleased you found the workshop useful and keep it up. I look forward to a visit next time you stay in Scarborough. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Art Room also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Art Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing