We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Went in July 2015. At the time they were having a complete redecoration before the school holidays . The guys painting and doing the refurbishment never got in the way.
They were friendly even though they were sub contracted.
Anyway we were in room 28 which has the most amazing view of the sea. And there was a full moon that week too and the view out of the kitchen window was stunning, the reflection of the moon in the sea. <3

Sorry, off subject again

We had a self catering apartment , door straight in to the bedroom, then the bathroom with bath and shower, and then kitchen diner, it was basic but very clean and perfect for what we wanted. The bathroom was a little dated but I believe from talking to staff our room was next up to be refurbished after we left. But it was clean and we were quite happy with it.
The staff were very helpful and polite, always seemed happy, and chatted when needed and good morning / afternoons as we came and went.
I think they thought my partner was a bit of a goer as he had taken his ex wife and twins there 1 week before I went with him there !
We didn't eat at the attached restaurant as I have food specific allergies and it's a Mexican restaurant, but we did try out a few fish bars and a couple of pubs which were all lovely.
Over all I would love to one day come back and stay again and visit some memories of our holiday (sadly my partner passed away unexpectedly in October 2015 )
There are some lovely places to visit in the area , small bays, rock pooling on the main beach, the Spa is just a short way away, and when you open the windows in the morning you can hear the brass band playing down there, it's lovely, I do hope to come back some day xxx

Room Tip: Go up a couple of floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This place doesn't lie about what it is! Me & my partner stayed for one night during Whitby Goth Festival. On arrival we met John who is a kind & funny character, we paid £50 for a room that was massive with a king size bed. Brand new bathroom which was nice, the length of time spent in the room was limited but it was a lovely stay. Downsides where only a little heater & odd smell coming from the kitchen, but once door shut, sorted! El-Gringos = OMG!! Didn't realise you could get discount, amazing food! Definitely a return visit is needed, would stay again for a cheap no frills no fuss sleepover! Hope we didn't scare John too much in our fancy dress!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I had many lovely holidays here over a decade but no longer.There are unnecessary charges for everything including electric and car parking, recently stayed at trafalgar square holiday apartments far superior, price includes parking and electric. Jo was the manager of the esplanade and was outstanding in every way,sadly she is no longer there and the standards have dropped dramatically, if I paid 10 pounds per night I'd expect a ticket to the theatre......There's much better in Scarborough.....just have a try elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rascalMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Very tired and rather dirty. Unable to sit on the sofa as too dirty.
Two electrid fies to heat the apartment. we kept all the door open so that the unheated bathroom and kitchen would warm up. Hot water was plentiful. However, this apartment was very convenient for Scarborough Spa.
I would not recommend this accomodation and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank katharinedavis51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Plussses: Good access to the Spa and South Cliff. It was clean.
Minuses: Hi cost of extras - parking and and early check in. Leaking Tap. Ground floor window not securable. Sigificant number of light bulbs not working. Total mismatch of cutlery. No fire doors on staircases. Heating with portable electric appliances, none of the kitchen or heating appliances had a PAT test within the last year. This with the building structure represented a significant fire risk and could I think be illegal.

Room Tip: This a risky place to stay and offers poor value for money. Staying on the ground floor could mean e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
8.3 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
7.3 km away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
5 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $109 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing