We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Albert Inn(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Guest House(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coachman Inn(Scarborough)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
69
67
43
45
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
67
43
45
68
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This place doesn't lie about what it is! Me & my partner stayed for one night during Whitby Goth Festival. On arrival we met John who is a kind & funny character, we paid £50 for a room that was massive with a king size bed. Brand new bathroom which was nice, the length of time spent in the room was limited but it was a lovely stay. Downsides where only a little heater & odd smell coming from the kitchen, but once door shut, sorted! El-Gringos = OMG!! Didn't realise you could get discount, amazing food! Definitely a return visit is needed, would stay again for a cheap no frills no fuss sleepover! Hope we didn't scare John too much in our fancy dress!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I had many lovely holidays here over a decade but no longer.There are unnecessary charges for everything including electric and car parking, recently stayed at trafalgar square holiday apartments far superior, price includes parking and electric. Jo was the manager of the esplanade and was outstanding in every way,sadly she is no longer there and the standards have dropped dramatically, if I paid 10 pounds per night I'd expect a ticket to the theatre......There's much better in Scarborough.....just have a try elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rascalMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Very tired and rather dirty. Unable to sit on the sofa as too dirty.
Two electrid fies to heat the apartment. we kept all the door open so that the unheated bathroom and kitchen would warm up. Hot water was plentiful. However, this apartment was very convenient for Scarborough Spa.
I would not recommend this accomodation and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank katharinedavis51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Plussses: Good access to the Spa and South Cliff. It was clean.
Minuses: Hi cost of extras - parking and and early check in. Leaking Tap. Ground floor window not securable. Sigificant number of light bulbs not working. Total mismatch of cutlery. No fire doors on staircases. Heating with portable electric appliances, none of the kitchen or heating appliances had a PAT test within the last year. This with the building structure represented a significant fire risk and could I think be illegal.

Room Tip: This a risky place to stay and offers poor value for money. Staying on the ground floor could mean easier exit in case of fire.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We booked a night in the hotel for a visit to the Spa theatre.We were given an apartment on the top floor. As we entered the room we noticed it was very cold and no sign of a heating system . An electric oil filled heater was in the room and we put that on while we went for an early dinner and a concert by Dr Hook. On our return the room was cosy and warm. The room although basic was clean and comfortable. We had the unexpected extra of a small kitchen so we provided our own breakfast. The reception on arrival was very warm and friendly and despite not getting a hotel room we did enjoy our experience. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. We didn't pay the £10 surcharge for the on site parking as it simply wasn't good value for money, we bought a permit for off street parking for £5 that some hoteliers do give you free of charge. The building needs a bit of care and attention and they are planning refurbishment in the New Year. We prefer hotels and it wasn't our desirable choice.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews