We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beaches
Ranked #5 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our stay was a last minute decision to finish off a few days away that we had spent in Beverley.
We are so glad that we decided on Scarborough and that we found 'The Beaches' on one of the booking sites.
The welcome was warm and friendly, even accommodating our early arrival.
Parking was out on the street but there are plenty of spaces and the owners issue a free parking disk for your stay.
The room we had was warm and clean and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. The bed was comfy and we had a great nights sleep, helped by the long walk around Peasholm Park in the evening.
If we were to criticize anything it would be the shower in the room which was a little under-powered but not a big issue for us.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the perfect way to start the day.
'The Beaches' is ideal for those visiting the North Bay area of Scarborough. Just a couple of minutes walk to Peasholm Park and not that many more to the North Shore beach and the Open Air Theatre.
We would not hesitate to recommend The Beaches to friends and family and hope to return on our next visit to Scarborough.
Thank you Jules and Alec.
Britt and Paul

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Alec, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Paul
Thanks for your review! we are so glad that you enjoyed it here with us and that it rounded off a nice mini break for you both.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we do hope that you will be back!
Jules and Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the beaches. Was warmly welcomed by Jules and Alec. The room we had was nicely decorated and clean. With plenty of tea/ coffee. Wi fi and tv good in room. Breakfast was excellent. The beaches is close to the north beach, with lots of walks in the area thank you for making our stay great.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Alec, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us Linda, it was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope you stay won't us again in the future

Take care

Alec and Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

One night only in Scarborough with my Mam to see Cliff Richard at the Open Air Theatre. Enjoyed a great stay at The Beaches. Lovely warm welcome from the owner to their very comfortable, clean and well furnished B&B. We enjoyed the room at the top with king size bed, en-suite shower room, sofa area and french doors out onto a small balcony. Great views over the area and everything you would need for a short stay. Welcome tray with teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Great location to the Open Air Theatre and close to the main town centre for bars and restaurants plus the beach and sea front only a short stroll away. After a great night sleep best way to start your day on the Yorkshire coast with a full english breakfast, sausage, bacon, egg, black pudding, tomatoes, toast and pot of tea...perfect. Would highly recommend and will definately return again for a lovely short break. Thanks for being great hosts.

Room Tip: Top floor king size room can highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Alec, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Wow, thank you for your very lovely detailed review! we are so stoked that you and your Mum enjoyed your stay and the very dashing Cliff of course!
We are, as you say in a great location for the Open Air Theatre and the North Bay beach and attractions. We do hope that another concert takes your fancy next year and that you'll book to stay with us again.
Take care

Jules and Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Stayed at the beaches for five nights with two children and two dogs, couldn't have been better the room was spotless and large the b&b is close to a the lovely Peasholm park and a very short walk from the beach. The owners were lovely, very helpful, the breakfast was delicious. Parking was not an issue. Really reccomend to anyone !!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank l0u1se220022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Alec, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Louise
Thanks for your kind review! we loved having you guys stay and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The North Bay is great for dogs as it has the fantastic Peasholm and Park and the doggies can go on half of the beach at this time of year. Hopefully you'll stay with us again in the near future.
Take care
Jules and Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely return to The Beaches! I visited with my four month old to see friends in the area and couldn't have had more of a warm welcome.
Jules and Alec have added some lovely touches to the place and as ever the breakfast was brill. I'm annoyingly gluten free and I was delighted when Jules had FOUR choices of breakfast cereal for me plus gluten free bread.
The room was clean, tidy and well presented and I it's just a short walk down to Peasholm Park and the lovely North Bay .
I'm looking forward to going back with the rest of the family.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank loulouwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules_Alec, Owner at The Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Louise
Thank you for your great review! and thanks for returning. We do endeavor to cater for all kinds of dietary requirements, so we are glad that you found you had plenty of choice at breakfast.
Hopefully see you again for a third time in the near future!
Take care
Jules and Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
963 reviews
1.4 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
1.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
837 reviews
0.1 km away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
983 reviews
0.1 km away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches

Address: 167 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Beaches, a cosy yet contemporary guest house offering quality accommodation in Scarborough's North Bay area. We have five rooms, each with their own individual characters, and can accommodate every type of visitor from couples and business travellers to large families or groups. We're in a fantastic location in the beautiful North Bay area, just a short walk from Peasholm Park, Scarborough Cricket Club and the wonderful Open Air Theatre, the largest of its kind in Europe. The Blue Flag-awarded North Bay beach is five minutes' stroll away; from here you can walk along to the Scarborough Sea Life Centre or take a miniature railway carriage through the Theatre. After a day of exploring Scarborough, you can look forward to relaxing in our comfortable, warm and bright en suite rooms, which all have flat screen televisions and free WiFi, and not to mention our much praised memory foam beds! Plentiful tea and coffee is provided in your room, along with some extra touches for your comfort and convenience. In the morning, head down to our dining room for a hearty cooked breakfast, served at a time that suits you. For those with smaller appetites, we also offer a selection of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Of course, we can accommodate any dietary requirements too, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free - just let us know any special requests when you make your booking and we'll be ready for your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing