We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay for groups”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane L
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay for groups”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Holbeck House is a really good place to stay for large families or groups. It is located on a quiet residential street, so you have to be mindful of the neighbours, but we didn't find this a problem at all. It is a good 30 min walk from the property into the town, but that said, it is a pleasant walk, either along the street on the top or down through the gardens onto the sea front. It is a little more challenging on the way back as it is uphill but there are buses and taxis if you need them.
The house itself is very good value for money, having three bedrooms with double beds, and two with twin beds and plenty of room for a travel cot. It has two bathrooms, one with shower and one with shower and bath and a downstairs toilet. The lounge/dining room and kitchen are of a good size too and the kitchen is well stocked. There were 10 of us staying for the weekend and we never felt cramped or on top of each other.
We didn't use the large garden due to the time of year but we did use the hot tub a couple of times.
The house has a large drive which can fit three cars at a push but the on street parking is ample and free.
The only slightly negative point I could make is that it could do with a lick of paint but it is clean and warm and this didn't spoil our stay by any means.
The owner is friendly and helpful, sending a text message afterwards to see if we had enjoyed our stay, a nice touch.
I would definitely recommend to others and I would stay here again if I was travelling in a group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you so much Jane for taking time to make a very comprehensive review of your stay.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back anytime in the future.
All the very best, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy_88L
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great large house ideal for a weekend stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Very much enjoyed our stay over the bank holiday weekend. Easy check-in and check out system and the house is only 10-15 minutes from the station and the sea front. Ideal number to stay would probably be 8-10 people, and plenty of space for eating in or if it is just a place to sleep for the night. Bonus being the hot tub in the garden. Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Hi Jacque,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I wish you had let me know about the towels/bedding we would have got some new ones to you straight away!
Sorry to hear about you having to use taxis, it takes us 25mins to walk to South Bay from the house and 10-15 mins to the nearest beach with our 2 little boys, it does show where the house is on the TripAdvisor map.
Hope you enjoyed your stay, take care!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Viki B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing House!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A group of us stayed here for our friends birthday and had the most amazing time!! The house was perfect and so lovely, very clean and really big! It had everything we needed and the hot tub was and great!
The house is in a prefect location and within walking distance to the centre of Scarborough with beautiful views along the way.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmness of the house
Liked least: Not aloud any
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing