We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Arigato

Arigato
Ranked #8 of 154 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Description: Arigato offers quality dining, Japanese cuisine like no other in the heart of Newbury. The menu places an emphasis on fabulous, fresh quality ingredients to create a unique, diverse fusion of brilliantly prepared and presented Japanese dishes. Our Music Room is always ready to host any business meetings, working lunches, Private functions with a Karaoke facilities available
Restaurant details
Description: Arigato offers quality dining, Japanese cuisine like no other in the heart of Newbury. The menu places an emphasis on fabulous, fresh quality ingredients to create a unique, diverse fusion of brilliantly prepared and presented Japanese dishes. Our Music Room is always ready to host any business meetings, working lunches, Private functions with a Karaoke facilities available
Reviewed 12 December 2020

WE knew this place was going to be fantastic as soon as we tasted the starters, my tempura prawns were to die for. We both had the duck which again was amazing, cooked to perfection with an absolutely delicious sauce and we both had a cheesecake which was a great way to end the meal. The service was also excellent, there were screens between the tables which made it feel really private (even if they were really for Covid!) and we just loved everything about our meal.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank readytogohomeyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2020 via mobile

great service, food was amazing! I had tempura crab to start and could not fault it - could have had that as a main! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 56karlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Simply enough, the thought of going to Arigato is exciting. The food is divine and leaves you with a sense of well being. Cant wait to go again!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristopherT462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Ordered a takeaway last Wednesday for Saturday collection as busy moving house and unsure of delivery location. Rang 11/2 hours before to ask for delivery and they denied having our order. No problem taking it again but good job we rang. However sadly the wrong starter was sent. Ordered prawn tempura but got dumplings which we didn’t like. Rest of the food was good but we felt expensive for portion size. Would try set menu when open but wouldn’t have another takeaway.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitrijs_S123, General Manager at Arigato, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2020

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a review.

The order has been received and we have had your original order also. The name for your original order has been taken incorrectly so we could not locate your order on the point of your phone call as could not match the name. I have delivered your order personally as you have asked us to deliver instead of collection and of course it was not a problem for us. As we have located the original order and on the original order we had prawn gyoza and not prawn tempura. Most likely it was our error on taking the original order and I am very sorry for that error. As it is unprecedented times of COVID and the food that we are usually serving directly to the customers tables has to be delivered to customers door it puts a lot more pressure on every member of staff to make sure that every order is delivered correctly.

It is our priority to make sure that every customer is receiving the highest quality of food as possible, however mistakes do happen and I can only apologise for the mistake that happened to your order and also negative experience that you have received.

And once again I would like to thank you for your review as it does help us to improve the service for our costumers in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

A long time since we tried them, and we loved our dinner. Social distancing including translucent screens between tables makes it feels private, safe, and cosy. We tried the 6 course tasting menu and we were wowed. Lovely service. No hesitation in giving them 5 stars and will return soon.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank johnmU7002VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arigato also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Arigato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.