We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic place and Simon the owner is brilliant with customers and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Smugglers Inn offers a cosy bar, a delightful restaurant and accommodation by the sea at Blue Anchor Bay in Somerset. We are on the edge of Exmoor and the Quantock hills and make a perfect base for walking holidays. The West Somerset steam railway runs through Blue Anchor and the station is just along the road at the end of the bay. Blue Anchor beach is a long sandy beach and is just across the road from the Inn.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place and Simon the owner is brilliant with customers and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have been here three years in a row, the food is outstanding the staff very friendly, Simon the owner is very friendly towards customers and treats his staff with much respect...the staff all work very hard, and are very polite. The choice of the food dishes are very good and that includes the prices, and Simon also puts on specials and does most of the cooking himself using local produce, we will be back again there next year.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julietitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    97
    35
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We've been coming to Blue Anchor for years, firstly with the kids and now with the grand children and we've been coming to The Smugglers for most of their years. I can honestly say, I've never had a bad meal. The food is excellent with varied menus, the welcome is always warm, the staff are always friendly, there's a good choice of real ales and ciders with plenty of the rarer spirits as well. There's a lovely garden when the weathers fine with bouncy castles for the younger generation and plenty of parking. The only downside is it can sometimes get busy but that's a measure of it's success and the staff will always try and squeeze you in. And to make a change the pub is canine friendly for us dog lovers. Sounds too good to be true? Try it and see thats all I can say.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuffchuffhumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would always go back, in fact, we do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We are regular visitors to the smugglers and can't recommend it enough...
We first went approximately 5 years ago and probably go at least 4 times per year. We love the great value, fresh food and the fantastic Smuggled Otter ale!
We have two children who love the pirate ship bouncy castle in the garden. On a Sunny day, the well kept garden is a fabulously tranquil place to be.
We will continue to visit the Smugglers for years to come.....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect wedding reception.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We got married locally and celebrated our wedding reception with family and friends at the Smugglers. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. From the planning stages with Simon's fab ideas and input for making the day special, to the welcome for our guests, the excellent meals, professionally and pleasantly served by ALL the staff to the evening event, every stage was overseen by Simon to ensure our day was as smooth and as memorable as possible for all the right reasons. We often pat ourselves on the back for making such a happy choice. We'll be back, again and again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davewoodland_rowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Can't quite believe the below review was on the same day as us!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just goes to show that two differant groups of people dining at the same place at the same time and eating the same food can have such differant views!

We also ate at the Smugglers yesterday and it was very good. Lovely sunny day in the beer garden which was enclosed and out of the wind. A very good bouncy castle for my son which kept him well occupied.

Food was very good in my opinion and yes there was a small amount of red wine in the gravy but hardly enough to intoxicate an ant.

Was all very nice and i would happily recommend to anyone!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank webster5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonrcurtis, Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your review. Nice to see that I might be getting most of it right!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing