We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60's Weekend at Minehead”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“60's Weekend at Minehead”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had mixed feelings about this trip as it had been nearly 20 years since I last visted 'Butlitz'. Still, there were 8 of us, so if it was bad we would suffer together! It was the last weekend in January this year and off we set. Unfortunately, due to some of the party not finishing work early, we did not make there until after 9 pm and with the usual parking and finding silver class accomodation, we were all shattered before we started but made it out to enjoy a host of acts, The Dreamers, The Animals, etc thoroughly good night. Apartments were ship shape and Bristol fashion, although we did take the precaution of bringing own bedding, based on experience from 20 years ago and did make extra comfortable sleeping. Roll on Saturday! Breakfast did not disappoint, in fact it was fantastic! Plenty of everything and good quality.
Spent rest of day around different bars and amusements, a nice way to unwind. Evening started with dinner, which again was very impressive. Quick change into 60's get up and out early'ish to get somewhere to sit. These weekend do's are certainly popular. All acts were fantastic again, especially The Merseybeats, really took me back. Unfortunately, I had already booked to see a Pink Floyd tribute band (Think Floyd) back home before this weekend was arranged, so I missed Sunday entertainment but I'm told by rest of party that Marmalade were exceptional - best act of the whole weekend. Thank you Butlins for making a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable weekend. We booked for another 'Big Weekend' next year before we left, 70's this time and I'm sure we will equally enjoy as much.

Room Tip: All accomodation seemed fine, I think we will try Gold next time (and there will be a next time!) ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday_traveller047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    1,115
    562
    265
    397
See reviews for
2,151
375
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth Devon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Omg where do I start! Arrived and luckily being 6'2" and reasonably fit was able to hump all the luggage up the fire escape two floors to our room - not sure how single parents or older people manage - 12 hrs later, having spent a night listening to the car alarms going off, woken at 7 am by the kids opposite who invented a wonderful game of running up and down the metal fire escape, before they set their smoke alarm off - which eventually led to full evacuation when the fire alarm kicked in - but this did mean I was up and about to challenge the same kids when they moved onto their new game of launching themselves at our front door! Not to worry I thought as we made our way over to the exclusive yacht club dining experience on the premium food package we paid for - you guessed it - no yachts, not exclusive and definitely not premium food! Akin to a supermarket cafeteria would be a more accurate description. Walking back we popped into guest relations to discuss the neighbours from hell - only to discover the customer services considered it as 'not their problem' from that I assumed it was my problem. Oh well soldier on we thought - mesmerising was the rest - it was like Jeremy kyle's green room, stunned by how many 3-5 yrs olds could hardly throw a sentence together but knew every swear word in the book - I did wonder if the parents would have challenged their offspring if they were able to hear the language from the bar where they sat swilling lager from first thing in the morning - all day long! Was also impressed by some of the acrobatic abilities of these kids - could climb over everything, could win gold medals for long distance spitting and some showed great football potential if only they had balls to kick instead of signs or whatever else they took a dislike too as they walked past. you may have guessed it but we did pack up and go home a day earlier - having eaten off centre rather than indulge further in the exclusive yacht club!! No we won't be back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Devonfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We went for the country and western weekend and booked a silver room. We have never been to Butlin's before. The room stunk of sweat but we opened the windows and just thought the room hadn't been used for a while. We went for dinner which was very good and then on the entertainment which was excellent. We then returned to the room and got ready for bed. We opened the bed and were absolutely horrified. The sheets hadn't been changed from the last occupants and the duvet cover was covered in make up. The duvet itself was all stained and the pillows stunk of sweat. It was nearly 1.00 a.m. so we had to sleep on top of the bed in our clothes with our dressing gowns over us and towels to cover the sweat smell of the pillows. We spoke to some of our neighbours who had had a smilar problem but had spotted it earlier in the day. They had their linen changed and were given a bottle of bubbly and chocolates and biscuits. We went to reception and complained and got our linen changed, but NO COMPENSATION WHATSOEVER. We then spoke to someone else who had returned their pillows and were just told "WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT IT IS ONLY SWEAT". There were a lot of louts staying there who eventually got chucked out for the noise they were making, and we had people in the apartment above who were making a hell of a noise until 3.00 a.m. If you want a sleepless night this is definitely the place to go, but if you are used to cleanliness DON'T GO NEAR THE PLACE. It ruined our weekend

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_shuttleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79,782 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We only went for a day trip last June with our two grandsons. The price was £50 + with parking which we thought was reasonable but once inside the park we found we had to pay additional charges for the children to go on the boats and racing cars etc., £5 per person per ride for a few minutes, which we thought was unreasonable. Why don't they include all rides in the price?

The cost for lunches within the complex (just for burgers and chips and drinks) was very expensive, much more than you would normally pay outside the park in the same food outlets.

Apart from the extra costs, it was a reasonably good day out for the children.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
365 Thank Sandygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I went to Butlins Minehead back in July 2010 with my friends family for 5 days, the great memories still reign in my head, we stayed in a silver apartment with self catering, 20 minutes in, my friends younger brother 8 at the time, hit his head on the outdoor pool gate, he was concussed and we rushed to the medical place-thing, they were quick and snappy at the job of bandaging him up, although this ruined half of his holiday since he couldn't go in the pool, the rest of the holiday was spectacular, we watched a beetles tribute which I recommend totally, you could dance freely infront of the stage without people thinking you looked like a weirdo, we enjoyed a opstical course in the pool, which I'd also recommend booking, one of the red coats Phil, was very helpful, my friend is a keen streetdancer and he and her had a dance off at the beetles tribute, we also watched many pavilion perfomances, the pavilion slot machines were a definate pleaser, we spent most nights in 'reds' ordering constant drinks which we found expensive so bought drinks from the 'Spar' onsight before hand, there was 4 of us in the apartment, with just a twin room and double bed room, and 1 boy, he was taken to sleeping on the couch, overall good holiday, oh and btw Finnigans! BEST CHIPS!>.< Would Reccomend

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, as lugging suitcases up the wet steps getting annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
67 Thank Truuuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.9 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
235 reviews
9.3 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
169 reviews
30.9 km away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 37 in Minehead
61 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
274 reviews
6.1 km away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#18 of 37 in Minehead
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Property: Butlin's Minehead
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price range (per night): $108 - $189
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort
Butlin's Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing