We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pub to remember!”

The Old Ship Aground
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Historic Harbour side Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free there is lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013
Reviewed 23 October 2021

A quaint old pub,with lots of charm!The staff were friendly & attentive and the food was good.Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank roberteC5123LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Hi RoberteC5123LQ
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to see us at The Old Ship Aground.
We may be a little biased but we totally agree with you, that we have a wonderful team of friendly staff.
Many thanks for leaving your review and I hope that we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2021

My husband told me about the pub as he used to drink there after work 20 years ago! A friend and I were up in Minehead for an event the next day and we booked for an evening meal here. Very sympathetic to my Covid awareness concerns. Our table was in a quiet area with just on other couple at a table an acceptable distance away from us. We had the cod and chips and the mussels. Both were excellent and the mussels were a real treat. We decided on two (medium) glasses of Southern Californian Merlot. An excellent choice and what really impressed us was the fact it was served at exactly the right temperature. A great start to kur brief stay in Minehead.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ann59027
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Hi Ann
Great news that you enjoyed your visit! We all hope that it is not another 20 years before you return to see us again.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent food, very friendly and attentive staff visited twice during our weeks holiday in Minehead as it was so good the first time. Best Sunday lunch we’ve ever had in a restaurant and good size portions. Situated at the harbour with ample parking and great view, highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Odyssey21506614946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hi Odyssey

We are all thrilled to read that you loved your visits to The Old Ship Aground, well behaved dogs are always welcome & they can bring along well behaved owners too...
A good Sunday Lunch is essential to a happy Sunday!
We all hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Visited for dinner. The pub is located just by the harbour in a lovely and quiet part of town. The menu was imaginative with some normal pub type dishes as well as some more unusual ones. The range of drinks was also good with three hand pulled ales along with the usual selection of others. Will definitely return when next in Minehead.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexPeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi Alex
Thank you for your lovely review, we firmly believe a great Pub should offer good food along with a great drink selection! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2021

Staff were lovely and friendly, food selection was great, we had the brisket burger and the mussels and it was delicious! The vibe and the decor inside was cozy but also so interesting! (loved the whisky bottle lights haha) Would definitely recommend a meal or a drink here if you're visiting Minehead!

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank astronaut-tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner, Owner at The Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hi Astronaut-tofu

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We may be a little biased but we love our decor too.
I am delighted to read that we looked after you and that you really enjoyed your food, and please do visit us again and see what we do next...


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ship Aground also viewed

 

Been to The Old Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.