We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn Express and had a good deal for one night including breakfast. We found the room of a good standard, very clean and welcoming. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic and it was quite busy when we ate, but for £55 we would not complain.

We walked to find out way to Folkestone and managed to catch a bus into the centre and were offered all day tickets for £2.50 each. The bus service was very good, which meant we did not have to drive into Folkestone. Obviously the location of the hotel was excellent for getting up the next morning, having breakfast and then 5 minutes to the Tunnel for our day trip to France.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greekaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    525
    250
    67
    39
See reviews for
330
529
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at the holiday inn whilst visiting family in Kent, hotel staff were very polite and helpful. they gave me all the information that i needed. There is ample car parking even if the system is a bit strange to get in as the button is right over the other side from where you would pull in. Rooms were very comfortable , clean and in excellent condition. Will stay here again!!

Room Tip: I had a room that could have up to 4 people in it so you had a comfy sofa in the room as well which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The staff were very friendly, some of the most friendly I've come across. Rooms are definitely "express" oriented, but perfect for one or two stop-over nights when travelling on the tunnel. The sofa bed was not already made up for our kids, but they were very prompt getting the bedding to us & offered to make it up for us. The complimentary breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arsy, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel enroute to skiing in switzerland

The location is great for the channel tunnel, the pricing is great and its clean and cumfy

the only problem this time round was the sofabed - it was uncomfortable for the children as it seemed to have a block of wood that was naturally not the nicest thing to sleep on but being kids they soon stopped complaining and went to sleep

breakfast was ok, not great but its included in the price

I would stay in this hotel again, it fits our needs perfectly not only for price but location too

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 4pm on Wednesday 22nd February as a stop overnight on the way to Cologne via the Channel Tunnel. Sign posts to the hotel are misleading as is the address as Cheriton High Street. It is in fact towards the end of a separate road after passing the large Tesco. A pleasant welcome and we then went to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and all in all was acceptable except the bed and the duvet. The mattress was obviously a cheap soft affair and the duvet was just enough to cover the bed but did not have any overhang and was not made for the size of bed in the room, having said that the bed was not really large and was a normal double bed. Giving choice of pillows did not make up for this. We did not dine as we had eaten prior to arrival and our departure was too early to take breakfast. So all in all just good enough but needs to be improved bed and bedding wise.

Room Tip: Not really in a position to advise as I am not sure if the other rooms are better or worse bed wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear WiggleOxford,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments are important to us. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
3.3 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
4.5 km away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.2 km away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.6 km away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price range (per night): $114 - $201
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing