We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Atholl Arms Hotel(Dunkeld)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$98
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinloch House(Blairgowrie)
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$232
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$132
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Hotel(Blairgowrie)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$108
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,535)
Filter reviews
2,535 results
Traveller rating
840
866
461
254
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
840
866
461
254
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral wadebanks of the riverdunkeld housebeautiful locationclay pigeon shootingleisure facilitiesleisure clubhotel groundsdinner menupublic areasdinner bed and breakfastnew ownersdb bsalmonlovely groundsboth nightsafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 2,535 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Fourth time at Dunkeld House Hotel. As always the hotel and staff were lovely. It was my brother in law's birthday and chocolate covered strawberries were left in his room and we were all given a glass of Prosecco with our evening meal. We'll be back again soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hello Jeanette, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are happy to hear you liked the touches to your stay like the strawberries in your room. We hope that we can welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is lovely both inside and out and is set in some stunning grounds. Food was great as were most of the staff, our only gripe being that when we arrived the two staff on the reception completely ignored us, no hello, no look up, nothing despite standing only two feet in front of them. Wasn't a good first impression especially when we had shelled out for a suite. The rest of the staff soon made up for this though.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Negronisalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and apologise for the initial impression you had but thank you for your comments, they will be passed on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My son and I doing our usual highland fling for a few days before he went back to school. Stayed here on the first leg of the tour... How pretty was the situation of the grounds we dumped our bags and went for a walk along the river.

Room was nice enough but decor very dark and a bit like a mal maison which didn't suit the hotel.

Dinner was great. Bento box type tea for my son, which he loved, lots of compartments with different bits to eat.

Nice stay and great scrambled eggs, would stay again and recommend if you want a nice gentle break.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Hello Jenny J, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will decide to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Our party comprised of my Fiancee, my 18 month old daughter and myself. We live in Aberdeen and we’d been looking around for somewhere fairly close that had a pool. We finally settled on the Dunkeld House Hotel. Having a toddler is restricting in terms of times as she essentially goes to bed at 19:00 so we looked into all the Suites available. We called the hotel who suggested the Dukes was the most suitable room for us so we booked this.

When we arrived we were informed that the Dukes had been double booked and we were now in the Bothy Suite. This Suite had previously been discounted and has no view. The annoying thing here is that this was given as an instruction and it felt like we were expected to be over the moon with the change even though it was a worse room! £50 recompense per night was offered but we were happy to pay the extra money to have what we wanted so this gesture was irrelevant. Another annoying thing is that we weren’t told until we arrived even though the hotel had all of our contact details. We were considering cancelling he holiday at this point and returning home but we eventually agreed to stay in the Atholl Suite for one night before moving to the Dukes Suite for the remaining two nights. Without being melodramatic, a room change with a toddler isn’t as easy as it sounds and it also limits your day (the previous incumbents of the Dukes have until midday to check-out and the new guests for the Atholl will want in by 15:00 at the latest). This room change affected our plans and was a pain.

When we were told of the double booking I really never expected the hotel to be able to salvage the holiday for us and I was fully expecting to give one star here; but to their credit, they did manage to salvage it. It wasn’t perfect for the aforementioned reasons but apart from that we had a great time.

There are many things where the hotel can be praised:

The staff, although not as organised as somewhere like Gleneagles, were generally very friendly and helpful. Steven is very keen and friendly.

As previously mentioned by nearly everyone, the views of the Tay are lovely and you could sit in the garden all day relaxing.

Giving Toddlers free food is brilliant. This is a great gesture and this is something the hotel really should promote as we weren’t aware of it till we had eaten.

The Atholl Suite was nice and spacious, but the bathroom isn’t great. The view from the Atholl Suite is lovely (basically first floor over the water)

The Dukes Suite was nice and the bathroom much better than the Atholl Suite, although the room wasn’t as big and the view not as good.

All of the food we had was nice, but if you are there a few nights you’ll end up eating the same food as there isn’t loads of selection. We heard other people being offered Specials but we were never given this option in any of the three nights we ate.

The leisure facilities are nice (although the lockers a pain as the locking mechanism is so tight!). The gym was well air conditioned and the pool was good. There’s also a putting green and tennis courts which is excellent.

Dunkeld itself is a beautiful village and if you are staying in Dunkeld you really need to have a walk around the Hermitage. It’s a beautiful walk that has literally no hills, anyone who is able to walk can manage it easily.

One complaint with the hotel though is that it only has one lift. If you are disabled or have a buggy then it's a bit of a pain as the lift isn't in a great location.

Overall, we had our initial issued but we loved the Hotel and will almost certainly return.

Room Tip: A view of the River Tay is the obvious suggestion.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephencthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Hello Stephen, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear about the initial issues you experienced but we are happy to hear that they were resolved. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and we hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Visited late afternoon and sat in the Hotel garden, a short distance across the road and right on the edge of the River Tay with beautiful views of the bridge and water.

Ate a delicious beetroot and portobello mushroom burger with super chips! Service delightful!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 August 2017

Hello Maria B, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We do hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews