We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Friendly staff, unfailingly helpful. Dinner good, and not pricey.
Pool excellent.
Only disappointment - the free wifi advertised was not available in bedroom - and staff confirmed this was a known issue.
Letter to general manager re wifi - no response 3 weeks later -
If you consider Wifi important check with reception

Room Tip: check website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hello RR S, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies regarding the WiFi. We do have boosters throughout the hotel to assist with this but it appears that they may not be completely effective. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will investigate this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Fourth time at Dunkeld House Hotel. As always the hotel and staff were lovely. It was my brother in law's birthday and chocolate covered strawberries were left in his room and we were all given a glass of Prosecco with our evening meal. We'll be back again soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hello Jeanette, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are happy to hear you liked the touches to your stay like the strawberries in your room. We hope that we can welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is lovely both inside and out and is set in some stunning grounds. Food was great as were most of the staff, our only gripe being that when we arrived the two staff on the reception completely ignored us, no hello, no look up, nothing despite standing only two feet in front of them. Wasn't a good first impression especially when we had shelled out for a suite. The rest of the staff soon made up for this though.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Negronisalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and apologise for the initial impression you had but thank you for your comments, they will be passed on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My son and I doing our usual highland fling for a few days before he went back to school. Stayed here on the first leg of the tour... How pretty was the situation of the grounds we dumped our bags and went for a walk along the river.

Room was nice enough but decor very dark and a bit like a mal maison which didn't suit the hotel.

Dinner was great. Bento box type tea for my son, which he loved, lots of compartments with different bits to eat.

Nice stay and great scrambled eggs, would stay again and recommend if you want a nice gentle break.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Hello Jenny J, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will decide to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Our party comprised of my Fiancee, my 18 month old daughter and myself. We live in Aberdeen and we’d been looking around for somewhere fairly close that had a pool. We finally settled on the Dunkeld House Hotel. Having a toddler is restricting in terms of times as she essentially goes to bed at 19:00 so we looked into all the Suites available. We called the hotel who suggested the Dukes was the most suitable room for us so we booked this.

When we arrived we were informed that the Dukes had been double booked and we were now in the Bothy Suite. This Suite had previously been discounted and has no view. The annoying thing here is that this was given as an instruction and it felt like we were expected to be over the moon with the change even though it was a worse room! £50 recompense per night was offered but we were happy to pay the extra money to have what we wanted so this gesture was irrelevant. Another annoying thing is that we weren’t told until we arrived even though the hotel had all of our contact details. We were considering cancelling he holiday at this point and returning home but we eventually agreed to stay in the Atholl Suite for one night before moving to the Dukes Suite for the remaining two nights. Without being melodramatic, a room change with a toddler isn’t as easy as it sounds and it also limits your day (the previous incumbents of the Dukes have until midday to check-out and the new guests for the Atholl will want in by 15:00 at the latest). This room change affected our plans and was a pain.

When we were told of the double booking I really never expected the hotel to be able to salvage the holiday for us and I was fully expecting to give one star here; but to their credit, they did manage to salvage it. It wasn’t perfect for the aforementioned reasons but apart from that we had a great time.

There are many things where the hotel can be praised:

The staff, although not as organised as somewhere like Gleneagles, were generally very friendly and helpful. Steven is very keen and friendly.

As previously mentioned by nearly everyone, the views of the Tay are lovely and you could sit in the garden all day relaxing.

Giving Toddlers free food is brilliant. This is a great gesture and this is something the hotel really should promote as we weren’t aware of it till we had eaten.

The Atholl Suite was nice and spacious, but the bathroom isn’t great. The view from the Atholl Suite is lovely (basically first floor over the water)

The Dukes Suite was nice and the bathroom much better than the Atholl Suite, although the room wasn’t as big and the view not as good.

All of the food we had was nice, but if you are there a few nights you’ll end up eating the same food as there isn’t loads of selection. We heard other people being offered Specials but we were never given this option in any of the three nights we ate.

The leisure facilities are nice (although the lockers a pain as the locking mechanism is so tight!). The gym was well air conditioned and the pool was good. There’s also a putting green and tennis courts which is excellent.

Dunkeld itself is a beautiful village and if you are staying in Dunkeld you really need to have a walk around the Hermitage. It’s a beautiful walk that has literally no hills, anyone who is able to walk can manage it easily.

One complaint with the hotel though is that it only has one lift. If you are disabled or have a buggy then it's a bit of a pain as the lift isn't in a great location.

Overall, we had our initial issued but we loved the Hotel and will almost certainly return.

Room Tip: A view of the River Tay is the obvious suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephencthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Hello Stephen, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear about the initial issues you experienced but we are happy to hear that they were resolved. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and we hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.5 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
14.7 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
16.7 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
531 reviews
16.9 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,181 reviews
17 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $187 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House Hotel is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There is lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbiking or enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing