We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding weekend visit”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Views are spectacular over the river Tay to mountains... lovely beer garden beside river. Staff cannot do enough for you and really cheerful. Yes it's a wee bit dated, and no lift, however really adds to the "old world charm".
Lovely reception area with great fog as and chairs.. lovely to relax with coffee (which is excellent).
Their food is superb, we had a steak meal on our first evening which would not ave been out of place in top London restaurant.
Breakfasts brilliant.
This is an old fashioned, gentile hotel, with full modern services and excellent, knowledgeable staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AnneSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hello Anne Saunders,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkled.
It is great to hear your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your meal with us in our award winning restaurant. Your kind words have been shared with the whole team including our chefs. We are part of the Scotch beef club meaning all our meat comes from Scottish suppliers and can be traced back to the farm it was raised on.
Thank you again, please know if there is anything we can do in the future to make your stay even more enjoyable do not hesitate to call us direct when booking a room or a meal.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights which was very pleasant. We were warmly welcomed by the manager who was friendly , helpful and eager to please.
Our ensuite river view room was clean and seemed freshly decorated. The bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was efficient throughout. The large lounge was very comfortable.
The food quality was excellent and there was a good variety of choices at breakfast and dinner.
The riverside terrace where snacks and lunches are served is a beautiful place to sit on a sunny afternoon or evening.
Service in the restaurant was a little slow but not hugely so. Staff seemed to be employed in more than one dining area so perhaps more serving staff would be the solution.
An enjoyable stay over all.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Geordiescots,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Your kind comments about our friendly staff have been shared with the whole team including our award winning kitchen team.
I have taken on board your comment about service in the restaurant. We will continue to improve our service the best we can and please know if there is anything that is not satisfactory do not hesitate to mention this at time of service.
Thank you again for your review, we all look forward to seeing you again on your next trip up to Dunkeld.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Been before for a light lunch, comfy seat in an empty main lounge,order for drinks and meals quickly taken then, after a lengthy wait, forced to ask when we might expect food.
Discovered,large lunch party in garden area so, two fairly simple ceasar salads would take their place in chef,s queue .
Very good salads when they eventually came,
Reminder in future,check all areas of hotels for hidden diners!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Robert K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and also enjoyed your salads.
Our kitchen services the terrace, lounge, Riverview restaurant, bar and bistro so many areas for our guests to be seated.
Everything is made fresh to order so can be a good 20 minutes or so for a salad to arrive. Please, if you are really hungry we can offer something from our nibbles menu that can come out right away. We have delicious home made bread and dips, olives, nuts, etc. Of course on a quieter day this would be around 10 minutes or less to put together a salad.
Just let us know if you are in a hurry and we will offer something that is quick.
Thanks again for writing a review, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

My husband and I stayed in room 17 the suite...room was huge spotless and had superb views of the river Tay.. however at £169 b/b it wasn't worth it..not one small biscuit to have with your tea..I found that to say the least quite poor! The bath needs re enamelled as the black marks are not so inviting. My daughter and son in law were in room 15 which was £119 and you could hardly swing a cat in it...however breakfast was appalling ..the plates were cold..my son in laws poached egg was like a brick as were our fried eggs ...bacon was over cooked .. cold mushrooms...and the complete lack of clearing our starter plates and glasses away was slow. I'm not sure if there was a problem with a chef on our stay but it wasn't worth any more than one star. This hotel is hugely overpriced...shame really as the location is perfect.

Room Tip: The suite is enormous but pricey and lacks any frills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LHdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Saw the lovely riverside setting at the terrace & decided to have a drink as the weather was glorious. Tables were all clean & had ample shade should you need it. The down side was an older chap behind the bar who obviously had just had a personality bypass or was having an off day. It was a shame as we were surrounded by foreign tourists who must have been greatly disappointed not to see the true Friendly Scottish hospitality that we are known for : (

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrscolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Mrscolt,
Thank you for your comments about our wonderful terrace. I have noted what you have said about our staff member. This is a rather personal comment but at the same time since you have mentioned it we will use this to further our commitment to offer great customer service.
If you would like to discuss this further then please get in touch privately thru an email to the hotel. I would then explain his " off " day. If you would like to read the review below about our service at the terrace as it reflects our true commitment to service.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.6 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,372 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
13.3 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
27.5 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
726 reviews
25.5 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: $118 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing