We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kinloch House(Blairgowrie)
US$230
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Blairgowrie)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angus Hotel(Blairgowrie)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Blairgowrie)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
230
199
80
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
199
80
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverview restaurantvegan menubeer gardena river view roomvenison burgerdog friendly hotellounge areafamily weddinghotel barscottish hotelno liftshort stayfood was lovelyscottish breakfastdining roomlarge roomthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights which was very pleasant. We were warmly welcomed by the manager who was friendly , helpful and eager to please.
Our ensuite river view room was clean and seemed freshly decorated. The bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was efficient throughout. The large lounge was very comfortable.
The food quality was excellent and there was a good variety of choices at breakfast and dinner.
The riverside terrace where snacks and lunches are served is a beautiful place to sit on a sunny afternoon or evening.
Service in the restaurant was a little slow but not hugely so. Staff seemed to be employed in more than one dining area so perhaps more serving staff would be the solution.
An enjoyable stay over all.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Geordiescots,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Your kind comments about our friendly staff have been shared with the whole team including our award winning kitchen team.
I have taken on board your comment about service in the restaurant. We will continue to improve our service the best we can and please know if there is anything that is not satisfactory do not hesitate to mention this at time of service.
Thank you again for your review, we all look forward to seeing you again on your next trip up to Dunkeld.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Been before for a light lunch, comfy seat in an empty main lounge,order for drinks and meals quickly taken then, after a lengthy wait, forced to ask when we might expect food.
Discovered,large lunch party in garden area so, two fairly simple ceasar salads would take their place in chef,s queue .
Very good salads when they eventually came,
Reminder in future,check all areas of hotels for hidden diners!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Robert K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and also enjoyed your salads.
Our kitchen services the terrace, lounge, Riverview restaurant, bar and bistro so many areas for our guests to be seated.
Everything is made fresh to order so can be a good 20 minutes or so for a salad to arrive. Please, if you are really hungry we can offer something from our nibbles menu that can come out right away. We have delicious home made bread and dips, olives, nuts, etc. Of course on a quieter day this would be around 10 minutes or less to put together a salad.
Just let us know if you are in a hurry and we will offer something that is quick.
Thanks again for writing a review, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Saw the lovely riverside setting at the terrace & decided to have a drink as the weather was glorious. Tables were all clean & had ample shade should you need it. The down side was an older chap behind the bar who obviously had just had a personality bypass or was having an off day. It was a shame as we were surrounded by foreign tourists who must have been greatly disappointed not to see the true Friendly Scottish hospitality that we are known for : (

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrscolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Mrscolt,
Thank you for your comments about our wonderful terrace. I have noted what you have said about our staff member. This is a rather personal comment but at the same time since you have mentioned it we will use this to further our commitment to offer great customer service.
If you would like to discuss this further then please get in touch privately thru an email to the hotel. I would then explain his " off " day. If you would like to read the review below about our service at the terrace as it reflects our true commitment to service.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This is my 3rd review on this place for the terrace bar, and my last review wasn't the best, in relation to the staff friendliness and cleaning the tables, but I'm glad to report that i went today 25th July and the young guy behind the bar couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. I even sat and watched him not only clean the tables, but sweep under them as well, and his bar area was spotless and very tidy. The food was excellent as was the service. Maybe my last visit was a blip, but this member of staff is a credit to this establishment and long may it continue

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Jim A,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write another review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
This is exactly what trip advisor is about and we really appreciate your honesty.
The terrace continues to be very popular and we do our best to keep it clean, tidy and well staffed. All of the dishes come down from the main kitchen in the hotel so lots of running back and forth.
We now have 6 chefs in the kitchen creating wonderful dishes allowing us to offer a variety that suites everyone.
Your review has been shared with all the staff, we all stand ready to offer great service on your next visit.
Thank you again, we hope to see you back soon at the Atholl.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stunning location looks fantastic from exterior by the river next to a chapel looks gorgeous, inside whoever feels a little dated, rooms spacious but cheaply furnished, tin bath had enamel missing in places and grime soaked in.

Booked a total of 9 properties from Gretna green up to Inverness back down to Gretna via Loch Ness and Luss.out of all this was the most expensive ( only because we stayed in the witchery in Edinburgh) and was the least favourite although location was beautiful.

Breakfast was average but adequate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello James C,
I am disappointed to read your review. Not quite understanding the " Witchery " part.
Not sure If I can say anything here. Maybe this....
Our renovations will start in January when we close for three weeks. This is something we have been doing for the last 5 years as we improve all areas of the hotel.
If you decide to visit Dunkeld again we would love to have the opportunity to show you what we have done to the rooms ( 2018) . You can follow all renovations on our Facebook page.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews