We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrot cake”

The Sandwich Cellar
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Hay-on-Wye
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: British
Description: Completely refurbished and with a fresh new menu too, we cater for everyone who loves bread and all the goodies that can go with it! Vegan and vegetarian friendly, with healthy options offered (interesting salads, smoothies, milkshakes and health shots/lollies) with top notch sources this is a cafe with style and passion!
Restaurant details
Description: Completely refurbished and with a fresh new menu too, we cater for everyone who loves bread and all the goodies that can go with it! Vegan and vegetarian friendly, with healthy options offered (interesting salads, smoothies, milkshakes and health shots/lollies) with top notch sources this is a cafe with style and passion!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've eaten a lot of carrot cake!!! But their carrot cake is the best ever . A*********, 11 out of 10

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank suemX2437WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat27w-fox, Owner at The Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much I shall let Camilla know! It is LUSH I agree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Yummy food and milkshakes.

Accomodating attitude toward dietry requirements, menu very customisable.

Great attention to detail with fast serving times even during busy periods.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank emjolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat27w-fox, Owner at The Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - we love your comments and hope you visit again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2021

Excellent service as always at the cafe and great banter with staff and food and drinks amazing as always.

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank G1271SUsteveng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat27w-fox, Owner at The Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You will always be welcome - now we've met you! Pop in soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

Came to hay in search of some food and found this place in the backfold. It was rammed (summer holidays), but the staff were brilliant in letting us know about waiting times etc. And when the food came it was delicious. I had the cajun chicken panini and carrot cake and my gf had a bacon brie cranberry with oreo milkshake. Coffee was also fantastic. Would happily visit again when in hay!

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank duratip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat27w-fox, Owner at The Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post this review, it means the world to us! yes it has been busy (for the entire town!), but we like to think we manage to get most food out within 20 mins max even at peak times and hope that was your experience too! Very happy you enjoyed and we'd be delighted to see you both again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

A trip to the sandwich cellar is a must on your visit to Hay on wye. The bacon, brie and cranberry panini is to die for! The cafe has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and the staff are absolutely lovely-nothing is too much hassle for them. You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat27w-fox, Owner at The Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Wow! Thank you so much Becky I'm so glad you enjoyed! I'm guessing you are the lady that said it was the best panini you'd ever had! So kind :-)
It's hard work but a great buzz when we're that busy - these kind of comments really lift the team! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sandwich Cellar also viewed

 
Hay-on-Wye, Powys
 

Been to The Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.