We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seven Stars B&B(Hay-on-Wye)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Black Lion(Hay-on-Wye)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilverts Hotel(Hay-on-Wye)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borders Hideway(Clyro)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$11
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
US$130
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$168
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
194
169
83
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
169
83
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelfront of houseno liftbreakfast roomcooked breakfastpiping hotblue boargarden roombeautiful towncouple of nightsstayed here for one nightfollowing morningsunday lunchlovely gardencoach housebreakfast was excellentcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We had not been in The Swan before its refurb earlier this year but we will certainly be back. We came for Sunday lunch on a (rare) sunny day and sat in the beautiful garden. We began with some warm, steaming and black charcoal bread - crisp crust with a soft interior into which creamy butter melted. The heritage tomato salad starter was fresh and delicious. I had some superb grey mullet whilst the family tucked into huge plates of succulent beef brisket, Yorkshire puddings and all the usual trimmings. Service was friendly, the food was of an excellent standard and at £15 for two courses it was incredible value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank LouCradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Ideal location for wandering around Hay. Friendly and business-like check-in. Lots of places to relax inside and out. The recently renovated bedrooms are really lovely. We stayed in a superior room and while it wasn't especially large it was very tastefully decorated, overlooking the garden with a most comfortable bed.
First Breakfast
The scrambled egg was not cooked to order.
The sausage was done on one side but not the other.
The sweating rasher did not come straight from the frying pan.
Second Breakfast
The French toast was flat - it is supposed to be puffed up.
The bacon was not crispy.
Only the occasional dot of maple syrup on the plate.
Third Breakfast
The pancakes looked good but three out of four were burnt to a crisp (pitch black) underneath.
However, the bacon was crispy today.
There was no flavour of maple from the syrup.
Unexciting cereals in dull Kilner jars - you would have needed a pitch fork to get the granola out of its jar.
Overuse of watermelon in fruit salad.
Juices not freshly squeezed and displayed in vile containers which might have been more appropriately used for filling up one's car with unleaded or diesel!
Please remove the singular awards plate from the sideboard - it is out-of-date.
Nice selection of reasonably good quality croissant.
The brown and white toast was very good as was the tea.
The service was appalling on the final day of our stay although we did find the staff at the Swan pleasant people.
We had a club sandwich and chips in the bar the first night and it was perfectly acceptable - the service was a bit sloppy.
We had dinner in the restaurant the second night. The potato and parmesan soup had wonderful flavour - it arrived tepid but we sent it back and it came out piping hot and we loved it.
The venison burger is a most interesting take on burger and chips and I enjoyed mine even though I suspect the venison bit was partially cooked in advance.
Our first choice of wine was not available. Our second choice of wine was not available.
The ash bread and the homemade butter were to die for - congratulations.
Get your act together guys - this could be a really great spot.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DublinMaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

After reading some mixed reviews, was hesitant about booking. However, we did and would rate this recently fully renovated hotel as excellent. The renovation has included lovely carpeting and good quality fittings in the bedroom and bathroom. Our room was well lit and could have been used for business or leisure. Breakfast was very good. The car park is smallish but ample and there is parking in front of the hotel as well,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The Swan is a super cute hotel. Close to everything, car park very handy. Breakfast was lovely, the homemade marmalade was so good. Staff all very friendly. Had a drink in the bar in the evening, very quiet - could do with some background music. Felt a bit like being in a library, fab for the book shops but not much of an atmosphere for a bar. Lots of lovely little touches which make it a very memorable stay, like homemade biscuits and even a birthday card for my other half. Would definitely recommend and stay again. One tip - the rooms were very warm, the windows open down not up! Oh and there are seriously creaky floorboards, but it's part of the buildings charm.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank natb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This is by far one of the most picturesque towns and hotels in all of Wales. We absolutely love it here.

We stayed in a classic room in the main building. Absolutely wonderful.

The staff is accommodating and helpful, not to mention very professional and attentive

Stayed: July 2017
Thank GLOBAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews