We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff shame about breakfast service”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed 3 nights with a group of friends. Our superior room was bright, clean and tastefully decorated with plenty of storage space, a large en suite and a big comfy bed. The location is great right in the centre of town.
The restaurant menu was limited and the portions small but the food was beautifully presented and tasty. The charcoal bread was different but really nice. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, special mention goes to Trish. We were allowed to take over the back bar for a private function which was great. The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast service which was dreadful. It was table service as opposed to a buffet which was nice but It appeared that they were very understaffed so sometimes there was a long wait for breakfast, toast etc and incorrect orders were delivered on a couple of occasions. The food was good but on the last day of our stay they had run out of two of the items on the full English breakfast menu.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We had not been in The Swan before its refurb earlier this year but we will certainly be back. We came for Sunday lunch on a (rare) sunny day and sat in the beautiful garden. We began with some warm, steaming and black charcoal bread - crisp crust with a soft interior into which creamy butter melted. The heritage tomato salad starter was fresh and delicious. I had some superb grey mullet whilst the family tucked into huge plates of succulent beef brisket, Yorkshire puddings and all the usual trimmings. Service was friendly, the food was of an excellent standard and at £15 for two courses it was incredible value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank LouCradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Ideal location for wandering around Hay. Friendly and business-like check-in. Lots of places to relax inside and out. The recently renovated bedrooms are really lovely. We stayed in a superior room and while it wasn't especially large it was very tastefully decorated, overlooking the garden with a most comfortable bed.
First Breakfast
The scrambled egg was not cooked to order.
The sausage was done on one side but not the other.
The sweating rasher did not come straight from the frying pan.
Second Breakfast
The French toast was flat - it is supposed to be puffed up.
The bacon was not crispy.
Only the occasional dot of maple syrup on the plate.
Third Breakfast
The pancakes looked good but three out of four were burnt to a crisp (pitch black) underneath.
However, the bacon was crispy today.
There was no flavour of maple from the syrup.
Unexciting cereals in dull Kilner jars - you would have needed a pitch fork to get the granola out of its jar.
Overuse of watermelon in fruit salad.
Juices not freshly squeezed and displayed in vile containers which might have been more appropriately used for filling up one's car with unleaded or diesel!
Please remove the singular awards plate from the sideboard - it is out-of-date.
Nice selection of reasonably good quality croissant.
The brown and white toast was very good as was the tea.
The service was appalling on the final day of our stay although we did find the staff at the Swan pleasant people.
We had a club sandwich and chips in the bar the first night and it was perfectly acceptable - the service was a bit sloppy.
We had dinner in the restaurant the second night. The potato and parmesan soup had wonderful flavour - it arrived tepid but we sent it back and it came out piping hot and we loved it.
The venison burger is a most interesting take on burger and chips and I enjoyed mine even though I suspect the venison bit was partially cooked in advance.
Our first choice of wine was not available. Our second choice of wine was not available.
The ash bread and the homemade butter were to die for - congratulations.
Get your act together guys - this could be a really great spot.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DublinMaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

After reading some mixed reviews, was hesitant about booking. However, we did and would rate this recently fully renovated hotel as excellent. The renovation has included lovely carpeting and good quality fittings in the bedroom and bathroom. Our room was well lit and could have been used for business or leisure. Breakfast was very good. The car park is smallish but ample and there is parking in front of the hotel as well,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The Swan is a super cute hotel. Close to everything, car park very handy. Breakfast was lovely, the homemade marmalade was so good. Staff all very friendly. Had a drink in the bar in the evening, very quiet - could do with some background music. Felt a bit like being in a library, fab for the book shops but not much of an atmosphere for a bar. Lots of lovely little touches which make it a very memorable stay, like homemade biscuits and even a birthday card for my other half. Would definitely recommend and stay again. One tip - the rooms were very warm, the windows open down not up! Oh and there are seriously creaky floorboards, but it's part of the buildings charm.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank natb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
10.9 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
5.9 km away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
20.9 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
24.3 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
6.9 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: $152 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing