We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
113
64
16
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
64
16
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub peak district warm welcome walking weekend tissington trail main road for sunday lunch breakfast and evening meal real ale hearty breakfast comfortable rooms lovely room wi fi a wonderful stay great weekend full english hartington
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

An attractive old pub with lots of character. The new management are very welcoming and the food is top notch. Portions are generous and very reasonably priced. The food was served very promptly. Overall a really great lunch and we'll definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank YVR-BEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We are staying in Ashbourne and were looking for somewhere to eat when we came across this Inn, the landlady was really lovely, gave us a warm welcome, it's quite a small menu but the food is amazing, really good sized portions and reasonably priced. Its so good we've booked to go back for Sunday lunch tomorrow.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Just a few things really let the Jug and Glass down. Whilst the room was very good overall, being on the ground floor meant we had to have the curtains closed all the time for privacy, the doors throughout the building seemed to slam shut and the wi-fi was unusable.

The wider pub seemed poorly maintained and could really do with a refurbishment throughout. The bar area didn't seem particularly clean and there seemed a real lack of attention to detail throughout the whole property.

These things let down the Jug and Glass. It is well located to explore the Peaks, has good food and a friendly landlady - some extra attention to detail would thoroughly improve this inn.

Room Tip: I would ask for an upstairs room for privacy
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew e, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

The Inn has just been refurbished and opened under new management on the 10th August 2016. The place is immaculate. How unusual for a review to appear in August from somebody who says they stayed here in May. Perhaps Marc will communicate with us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Pleasant landlady and the room was large and nicely decorated.
However, the view was non existent and we looked out onto a small area with drainpipes and kitchen extractor fans for decoration. The window itself was not big enough for the room and was just inside the door so did nothing to illuminate the rest of the room. We felt claustrophobic and this just exacerbated a cough I had. Although we planned to stay for four nights we left after two. The shower was not very consistent and the water didn't drain out of the plug very well. The toilet was very awkward to use and totally in the wrong position. We were impressed to find two luggage stands which makes for easier unpacking. However, when we noticed that the only seating provided was the beds and a dressing table stool, we wondered whether they should upholster the luggage stands!

Room Tip: Avoid room no 9 if you are looking for a pleasant view.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karooblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely Inn great food and fantastic setting. The owners were very friendly, the rooms were clean and tidy, the bed comfortable. Had a good night's sleep and a fantastic full English breakfast. Only downside to the visit was the strength of the WiFi signal but since I was there for just the 1 night it wasn't really a problem.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews