We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jug and Glass Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lathkil Hotel(Over Haddon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
112
64
16
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
64
16
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpeak districtb bwarm welcomemain roadwalking weekendtissington trailfor sunday lunchbreakfast and evening mealhearty breakfastreal alecomfortable roomslovely roomwi fia wonderful staygreat weekendcouple of nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Drove passed this old pub for yrs ...finally called in tonight ..it was beautiful inside ...food was faultless and apint of the.local ale went down well .. my partner said , we'lll def be back ...it has 9 bedrooms B/B with it ...nxt time we 'll stay over so we can enjoy more of the hospitalities ☺☺☺

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gramane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017

Hi There.

Thanks for coming in to The Jug and Glass and we would hope to see you again soon.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Best wishes,

Stuart and Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I'm sure other people have had a good experience but we didn't. We turned up late and were told that they had to check the room had been 'made-up' before we could have it (it was 9.45 in the evening). Then we were shown to a room that was very cold, despite being summer. We turned the heating on to take the chill off, but there was no heat. The room was standard but unimaginative with a very narrow double bed and one of those incredibly shallow continental budget hotel style baths that save the owner hot water. The owner(?) was not at all welcoming and access to the room was via a rubbish/dumping area at the back of the pub. All this might have been okay if we had not been charged a ridiculous £120 and then discovered afterwards that was without breakfast. Breakfast was, apparently, going to be nearly £10 each in a dining room that looked cramped and unappealing, so we left early and went to a cafe in the nearest town instead. We really wish we had said no to the room, instead of being too tired, and gone elsewhere despite the late hour.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Hello Lawrence,

I have read your comments and have spoken to the staff. First of all the cut off time for check in is 8pm! and you had not booked as is the normal procedure. You arrived very late and the staff did their best to accommodate you. Unfortunately my wife and i were away at the time. I have noted your comments and you are correct in assuming that your comments about the rooms are not shared by many who come here. Nor are your comments about the dining room. The site at the rear of the premises is currently under renovation. I will however address your comments about any pricing issues in relation to the room and breakfast. Also could i just add that access to the rooms are via the rear door in order that the guests do not have to access though the front if they wish to unload their car more conveniently.

Best wishes,

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I dont wish to run the place down because we did enjoy our stay, but the following would improve the facilities greatly,
wifi is very poor and not availible in the room we could only get it in the main area,
breakfast was good but at £9.50 is a little on the high side for a country pub! maybe in london but not in derbyshire,
my wife had scampi and chips , chips were not good, fozen chips and some were still hard and at £10-95 felt alittle cheated, ( we did get a a free glass of wine because of the chips ) I had the pork chop at £15-95 tasted good ,
the bar area was alittle cramped and was been used as part of the restaurant, think it would work better if the bar was kept as a bar, with maybe a seperate bar menu while the 2 back rooms could be used as the restaurant,


excellent host and location, nice clean room and bathroom, nice views

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Value D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Went on a walking weekend with friends. The owner was really helpful and friendly. The bar is small, but perfect for dinner and also for sitting comfortably for a drink.
The rooms were roomy, clean, good bathrooms.
For me, car parking is always important and the Jug & Glass has a large car park, plenty of space to leave your car during your stay.
Dinner menu was not overly complex, but the food was excellent and good value.
Real ale available, including a local Peak District beer. The Tissington Trail is close, along with other walks, so no need to drive anywhere once you are there, unless you have the need to visit a local town.
The place is on its own on the road, which is fine if you're staying there and using the facilities.
we will go again in the future. The Owner takes the running of the Jug & Glass seriously and will help wherever possible. Recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MiJi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We had a large comfortable & well appointed room with an enormous bed.
We ate in the pub and had great food both at breakfast and evening meal, I highly recommend the beef stew :)
The hosts were friendly and entertaining with stories of their future plans and past experiences.
The only possible down side to the pub is that its on a main road and although this didn't bother us it may be busier in the summer.
I very much hope to stay there again in the future and would recommend this to anyone planning a break in the peak district.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It is great to think that we helped make your stay a pleasant one.

Best wishes,

Stuart and Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews