We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
402
23
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granola jug of fresh milk peak district short walk to the centre cheshire cheese a quiet residential area the perfect host breakfast was delicious comfortable bed homemade jams small fridge b and b high street guest lounge a great stay hospitality tray bay window
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in May, and really enjoyed our visit. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Our room was very large and comfortable, with a really well-stocked hospitality tray and a very useful fridge. The breakfast was great - really set us up for a long day's walking - and the granola was the best I have had. Griff House is well-located for Buxton's high street (only 2 mins walk) and for superb Peak District walking. We hope to be back soon - we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Virginia,
Thank you so much for leaving your review of Griff House, we are pleased that you liked your visit. You stayed in Room 8, all bedrooms at Griff House have a silent running fridge. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and in particular Kathryn's granola, it is certainly very popular. We hope to see you again.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A very comfortable and welcoming B&B. Staying as a single traveller and was very pleased with my stay. Good location and for the town and a pleasant environment. All amenities readily available if needed. Would like to stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: My front view room was delightful
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dianne,
Thank you very much for posting a review of Griff House, we are pleased that you liked your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We have just returned home from a fabulous weekend in Buxton, and our 2 night stay at Griff House. We had previously read several 5 star reviews, but we have to say, 6 star would not flatter. Thank you Martin and Kathryn, you should be very proud of your wonderful guesthouse. Immaculate rooms, superb breakfast and absolutely faultless service by Martin.
Have visited Buxton many times in the past, But Griff House is far and away in a different league.
Hope we get the chance to return soon. Thanks Martin.
Mike and Yvonne.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was fabulous. But i think all 5 rooms as equally as good.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne4mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mike and Yvonne,
Thank you so much for leaving a review of Griff House, your kind comments are much appreciated. Our main guiding principle is to offer accommodation that we would like to stay in ourselves so we always try to consider everything from our guests’ perspective.
Hopefully we have given you a fresh perspective on a modern B&B and we hope to see you again before too long.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Our group stayed for 3 nights as a base for a Peak District walking holiday. We were not disappointed as every aspect of our stay was excellent. Comfortable, well appointed clean rooms, excellent breakfasts and a helpful and hospitable host. The hotel is within easy reach of Buxton's amenities, pubs, restaurants and shops and there is some off road parking. An overnight boot drying service was even provided!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first and second floors and all provide a similar experience.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Norman,
Thank you for taking the time to review Griff House, we are pleased that your party enjoyed your walking break. There's not much worse than pulling on wet boots in the morning, so we offer a complimentary boot drying service - always a pleasure to help :-)
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Hi Martin & Katherine, thank you for a excellent stay and been wonderful caring hosts, please come to Sheffield Martin and give Malcolm some cooking lessons, breakfast amazing and very tasty, Room 1 very clean not a bit of dust in sight. lovely quality furniture highly recommended and
will come back to stay. nice chilled weekend

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LadyNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Nina,
Thank you for your review of Griff House, we are glad that you liked your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and liked the room. We take cleanliness very seriously and are pleased you approve of our standards. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews