We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PremierInn.com
US$49
View deal
Trip.comUS$56
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
272
174
80
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
272
174
80
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beefeater restaurant next door attached restaurant excellent stay good size comfy bed member of staff cooked breakfast would stay again one night stay noise fan receptionist cleaners southend chain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Please please train staff to warn customers, ESPECIALLY DISABLED customers, that the carpark is a long way from the reception, and the corridors very long unless you get a low-numbered room. I booked by phone and no mention was made of this. We did not have wheeled luggage and really struggled, both having leg problems, to get all our luggage from car to room and back again. They NEED to provide simple trolleys [supermarket ones would do] for customers' use.
Secondly we were well aware when booking of the fact there was no air conditioning. However during three, not-particularly-hot-weather days we were not happy at having to run the admittedly provided portable fan 24/7, because the window restrictor is so ridiculous. They NEED to fit window limiters that let more fresh air in, and fix the night vents in the frames to be openable; ours was kept closed because the frame had been mis-fitted up against the plaster of the window return. They also need to ventilate the corridors which were completely sealed by fire doors and were absolutely stifling both in temperature and lack of fresh air - not what you want when lugging your belongings long distance without a trolley!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denby2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

The staff was very welcoming. The location was very good. The cleanliness of the room needs to improve, there was dust all over the room. There was a foul smell from the carpet, it was made worst at nights, because the extractor system was switched off.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LLJ775
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Excellent stay with very good staff.pleasant and helpful.nothing too much trouble.restaurant next door was just as good.lovely food good prices.made my stay easy and hassle free.would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

It is difficult to differentiate between Premier Inn hotels as they all appear identical. This hotel didn't seem to have been upgraded and although a fan was provided it was stifling. Not helped by windows only being able to crack open an inch or so. Air conditioning has never been a prerequisite for UK hotels but unfortunately it is becoming more and more necessary.

The staff were, as usual, brilliant. Very friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and we appreciated that there appeared to be an effort to give us a room away from anyone. I assume due to Covid guests are well separated.

With Premier Inn my usual gripe is the rubbish WiFi, I have to say that this is the best free WiFi of any of the chain we have stayed in but still remarkably slow. At least it worked. I didn't need much of a connection so did not pay for their oddly named 'Ultimate WiFi', usually 'ultimate' means slightly faster than free so I cannot comment on that.

Room tip: Ask to be away from the main road.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

We stayed here over the weekend for one night while we were visiting nearby family. Check in went smoothly and the room was very clean. Very basic for a premier Inn but ok for somewhere to put your head for one night. The only negative was the room was SO hot! There’s no air con in any of the rooms and the windows barely open so it did become unbearable after a while.

Breakfast is at the beefeater restaurant next door. Continental is a buffet style followed by a full English breakfast. There is no other choice for hot food but you can choose what you wanted on your full English. Food arrived luke warm and wasn’t the best breakfast I’ve had. Again perfect for somewhere to put your head for one night but I wouldn’t want to stay any longer than that.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kayleighmurphy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews