We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still haven't found any better!”
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Ranked #2 of 215 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A beautiful cotswold stone public house with restaurant in the heart of Kings Sutton village. Overlooking the green and Parish Church. We offer a relaxed and warm environment where you can pop in for a pint, have a snack at the bar or come for a meal in the restaurant. We would love you to come and visit. Deli Bar and pub open 7 days a week - (Monday and Tuesday -No restaurant) Coffee and Cake from 10.30am every morning. Our Restaurant is open Weds, Thurs, Fri Lunch and Dinner then Saturday from 12pm-9.30pm. Sunday Lunch we have 2 lunch sittings 12pm-2.30pm and 3pm (serving until 4:30pm. Sunday Night Steak Night 5.30pm-8.30pm Dogs, Children and Walkers all welcome!See you soon, Julie & Hendrik
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Since we last visited I've been to several restaurants in the local area, some very good, some appalling, but this place is the stand out for interesting cooking and first rate presentation; one slightly sad loss is the warm loaf of bread that was brought to the table last time ; they still make the bread here, but this time it was just slices. I presume they were fed up with so much of it going back unused - a shame!
Still, the two meat dishes we had on the set lunch menu more than satisfied ; I really don't know how they do it for £16.95 a head ,but I'm glad they do!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank slimtimBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik D, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hello

Thank you for your review and for being loyal customers over the years. We all really appreciate your kind words and feedback. You are correct about the mini white loaves we used to do, lots of it would go to waste, but great to read you still enjoyed our house baked bread (Julie and I dabbled last night with the idea of buying our own mill and making our own flour . . .)

Thank you once again and see you soon!

Hendrik and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived just before closing time to be greeted with a warm welcome and the sight of some excellent traditional draught beers. While there only for the time it took to drink a pint, we could see that it was a fine pub worthy of a return visit.

2  Thank AndrewTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik D, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hello

Thank you for joining us for a drink and for leaving a very kind review.

Hope to see you again soon

Hendrik and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The White Horse is situated in a village near Banbury. It has parking to the rear and is on a quiet street. There are tables at the front of the pub, on the road, and a series of rooms inside the pub. We went there for dinner on a Saturday night. It was nearing full at 7.00pm. We were given complementary cauliflower soups, which were creamy and delicious. We shared a duck liver parfait (pate), a large portion in a bowl, that sat on a berry base. Superbly tasty, perhaps the best I have eaten. We chose crispy pork belly and a crumbed pork ball with caramelised onion. This was a smaller portion than the parfait, but delicious. We ordered sides of cauliflower cheese and broccoli in burnt butter. I can't find the menu to check the details of what we ordered, so I'm relying on our memory. One of the best meals I've had for a while. The service was at just the right level of attentiveness. Great ambience. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik D, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hello

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal with us. So pleased to read you enjoyed the food and service.

Hope to see you again soon

Hendrik and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

I'm surprised by the enthusiastic reviews of the food and the description of the pub as a gastropub, as we were unimpressed by the quality of the cooking. Admittedly we had the cheapo set lunch but I think if the standard is low for a set lunch it probably wouldn't be much better if one ate from the carte. The set menu was an odd choice for summer, with mainly winter warmer dishes. The cauliflower soup was much too salty, as were the mains. And I think the menu description 'pork shoulder with creamed potatoes' is inaccurate for what turned out to be pulled pork in a very heavily breadcrumbed deep-fried coating. The creamed potatoes tasted far more of mustard than potato and it would have been nice to have been warned. However, we left feeling more forgiving after an excellent crème brûlée. And the setting is lovely, looking out onto the village green.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik D, Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback for us here at The White Horse.

I am so sorry to read your experience with us did not live up to our usual high standards.

However we completely acknowlege your comments in regards to some of the menu descriptions and we will look at how we are describing our dishes in the future. Likewise the style of the dishes may be a little 'wintery' so we will look at updating them soon.

Apart from the over seasoning was their any other issue regarding the 'quality of the cooking'?

As is usually the case with this type of review it's a shame we had no feedback to rectify these issues or redeem ourselves at the time and this review comes as a surprise and disapointment.


Hendrik and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Moved away from the area 2 years ago but popped back for a visit. If anything better than ever. Faultless food and staff are delightful.

1  Thank Sabrehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik D, Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here and for staying loyal despite moving away!

Hope to see you again soon

Hendrik and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing