We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening tea”
Review of The Stretton Fox

The Stretton Fox
Ranked #57 of 514 Restaurants in Warrington
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stretton Fox is located just off the M56 junction 10, and provides a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere where you can relax and enjoy a good meal with friends and family. We are situated in the centre of several dog walkers routes and are happy to offer respite to owners and dogs alike, although we do ask that dogs stay in the Old Barn bar area. When you come in, please order a drink at the bar and the staff will be more than happy to find you a seat, we look forward to seeing you soon and hope you enjoy your stay with us!
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Hadn’t booked but managed to get a table inside seems booking is a good idea whatever day or time you go . We went Wednesday 4 35 pm . Special offer menu starts 5pm . Had mushrooms in cheese sauce for a shared starter .Then sea bass with new potatoes in sauce with asparagus and fish chips and mushy peas . Had vanilla ice cream and coffees with drinks bill came to £54 . Service is very good . Food is very rich .

Thank Bluerobin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Bluerobin59, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Stretton Fox! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018

Got vouchers as a wedding gift so we used them here, it was ok but not worth a return visit to be honest

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Jill P, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a birthday meal on our way home after reading reviews and being recommended to eat here. We were severely let down.

We waited over an hour for our food and when we pointed this out to the manager we were told "the kitchen had it 40 minutes ago" this was argued with no apology for the wait.

When our food finally arrived it was ridiculous. We were served instant mash, oven chips and under seasoned gravy. The roast potatoes on the roast dinner were not only burned but cooked until there was no potato left inside. We needed to use the steak knife to cut through the over cooked seabass and instead of stuffing we got sausages with no acknowledgement that there wasn't any stuffing. The onion rings looked like they'd been microwaved, they were not golden or crispy.

The wagu burger was massively over cooked to the point that it was dry and hard to eat, there was more bun than burger.

The front of house staff were apologetic, however we had to go to the bar to order more drinks and when we did order at the table we waited well over half an hour and then drinks were forgotten.

We complained throughout the meal and it wasn't until we questioned the bill that the food was taken off and we only paid for drinks.

Overall it was a disappointing experience and if anything I felt for the front of house staff who clearly were not prepared to deal with this level of complaints. There were other tables near us who had issues with their meals and it took 2 hours to serve us 1 course. There were many meals they didn't have and clearly they were putting together meals to get them out quickly.

2  Thank Suzi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear from you soon.
All the best,
The Stretton Fox
01925 730693

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Bad bad bad bad bad bad don't visit bad bad bad bad and bad
It's worse than that but I don't want to swear it was that bad

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lennonpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Lennonpeter, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Please reach out to us at 01925 730693 when you can so we can address this situation directly. Thank you and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Been here a couple of times now and every time we have had outstanding service and excellent food. Highly recommend this place to anyone!

Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Lee O, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Stretton Fox! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stretton Fox also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 
Stretton, Warrington
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Frodsham, Cheshire
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Stretton Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing