We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal speed of service, good food, OK service”
Review of Winking Prawn

Winking Prawn
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Salcombe
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Big buckets of prawns, juicy steaks, fish dishes and breakfast buffets, ice creams, teas, coffees and even our own brand of locally brewed beer, the Winking Prawn’s style of shabby chic beach restaurant and cafe has been enjoying life at North Sands in Salcombe for more than 20 years. Sandy toes and salty paws are welcome come rain or shine for breakfast, lunch and dinner (but don’t forget to book in the evenings and keep an eye out for seasonal opening times). In the summer we also have a barbecue in the garden to enjoy as the sun goes down, and our dressing up box is legendary for bringing out your inner pirate, mermaid or fairy princess no matter how old you are. Opening times are seasonal, please take a look at our website for more information.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Beachside shack, very characterful, quite large patio as well as tables inside. Unfortunately you have to queue to order food and drinks, which can take a while and 2 of the 3 staff taking orders were rather surly in their attitude, 1 who took my order the other was rather rude when I pointed out a problem with the table's sunshade. However, the food was served in less than 5 minutes well presented, simple but very tasty. The Prawn Juice was a pale and hoppy beer and the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc was very good. We will return.

1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at Winking Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback Stuart! I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely time, although I am sorry your felt the customer service was not as you would have liked as rudeness is never our intention. Nonetheless, I am pleased the food, and in particular our beer, was well received! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Been several times during our week in Salcombe. Nice casual varied menu.

Great setting across from beach.

Evening bbq menu great value, well cooked and presented.

Great ice cream.

On several occasions varying staff were grumpy.

Fab location and ambience.

Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at Winking Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I am sorry to hear that staff seemed grumpy as they are a lovely, friendly team, but in these busy months it is possible their focus could be misconstrued. So pleased to hear you had a lovely time however, and hope to see you again on your next Salcombe visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

A wonderful spot in the glorious evening sunshine to enjoy a barbecue plate of meat and fish.
Super rose and beer. ☀️xx

Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at Winking Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for the lovely review Dawn! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Our second visit and even better than the first! Fruits de mer sharing seafood platter was delicious, huge amounts of prawns, mussels and whole cooked crab. Great value for money, super setting and views, friendly staff and owners who came to chat with us after. Wife and I loved it.

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at Winking Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We hope to see you and your wife again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I have eaten here many many times over the last 15 years and I have never had a negative thought about it. The location is perfect right opposite the beach with a small car park of it's own alongside a larger public car park. The food is beautiful every time, it's tasty and cultured without being over fussy. I have eaten there twice this weekend and took advantage of their BBQ which I would recommend to anyone. Great food, great location, great staff and a great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveB3532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at Winking Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review Steve! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winking Prawn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Winking Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing