We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Corner House(Lowestoft)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baytree House(Lowestoft)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
303
38
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
38
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmozart suitehomemade marmaladefiltered waterfull englishsea viewfriendly ownersmini fridgefour poster bedexcellent hostsbreakfast was excellentlittle touchesbed and breakfastlarge roomtown centreguest houseb and btea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Couldn't have wished for a better weeks holiday here. Anne & Colin were very welcoming and very obliging. My room was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the sea. A wonderful breakfast in the mornings with all you could want to see you through the day. Lovely home made Marmalade and jams too, made by Anne. I would definitely recommend Britten House, can't wait for another visit

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valsimpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you so much Val for such a lovely review. We can't wait to welcome you back.
Kindest regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

If you like visiting the roots of classical composers, as I do, you will find this place fascinating. You can sleep in the Britten room - the young composer’s bedroom - and eat in the dentist’s surgery. which was the workplace of the composer’s father. The excellent breakfast with hone made marmalade and locally caught fish rounded off a wonderful visit to a place which resonates with musical history and coastal ambience par excellence. Friendly and helpful proprietors.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank villageorganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you. Yes, Britten House is the Birth place and family home of Benjamin Britten. We are always happy to talk about his life here and to share information about his family as he is such an important part of Lowestoft's history. Just a small fact that we learnt at his centenary - There is a performance of his works held every day of the year somewhere in the world. He was inspired by his view of the sea and beach from his bedroom window and it is nice to give other visitors that same opportunity. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

This was a great find. Lovely warm welcome from Ann and we enjoyed talking to Colin in the morning at breakfast time, by the time we left we felt like one of the family. We had the Elgar suite, large room over looking the sea; amazing. Breakfast was really good, the best scrambled eggs I had every tasted. Hope we will be going back soon. Thanks Ann and Colin for making our stay enjoyable and memorable

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

It is always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay at Britten House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Colin does enjoy a good chat in the morning. Sometimes I have to send out the search party for him. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Colin & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

It was a late booking due to a family funeral. On arrival we were upgraded to the Elgar room which had a fantastic sea view and was warm and comfortable. We found the hosts helpful friendly & sympathetic. The breakfast was the best hotel we have ever had

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suttonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

I am sorry you had to visit on a sad occasion, but it was a pleasure to look after you during your stay.
Kindest regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Had a comfortable double room overlooking the sea. Good value for money compared to major hotel chains locally with single rooms. Breakfast was good as well with lots of choice. Home made marmalade a nice touch.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Graham1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews