We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Steak Pie!”

Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Italian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Townhead Hotel offers you a vibrant welcoming restaurant within our hotel. Having been recently refurbished, and using only the finest ingredients, farm assured, and locally sourced, we aim to provide our customers with a great dining experience. We cater for all diets, including vegetarian, vegan & gluten free. Everyone who walks through our door receives a warm welcome and a pleasant dining experience. Bookings are advisable over busy times like weekends. Winners of the "Best Hotel Bar Dining" award in Scotland through Scottish Hotel Awards.
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Townhead Hotel on the first stop of our return from Wick to London. We were not disappointed. We were very happy with the hotel and facilities but the highlight was our meal. We were served by Peter (?) who was really helpful. We had the pate as a starter followed by scampi and steak pie as our main. All were really good but I must highlight the steak pie which was awesome, containing really large pieces of the tenderest beef. Beautiful. Perhaps the best steak pie I have ever eaten. Our desert of cheesecake was also very special. We are disappointed that we will not pass this restaurant much in the future but highly recommend it to anyone that does. Thank you.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank 218DavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Montgomery, Owner at Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Hi David

Thank you for your kind words in your review.

Our steak pie is the talk of the town, so we are so glad you enjoyed it too

Although you may not pass very often, but please do pop in when you are in the area again

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2020

Myself and my beautiful wife had a fantastic meal , with outstanding service , cant wait to come back again.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank S7788SNcolinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Throughly enjoyed my meal, lovely relaxed atmosphere - the staff couldn’t do enough for us. A great evening! I have passed on to friends and family a definite Place to visit.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esophia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed here, food fab, friendly and helpful staff, family all enjoyed and we will return again

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank Glasgowcitycentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Amazing food, great service, lovely restaurant. The staff were just lovely, friendly and accommodating.

The steak pie was just unbelievably good and the leftover mac cheese was brought home in a doggy bag.

Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank littlegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.