We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit very good freshly cooked food”

Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Italian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Townhead Hotel offers you a vibrant welcoming restaurant within our hotel. Having been recently refurbished, and using only the finest ingredients, farm assured, and locally sourced, we aim to provide our customers with a great dining experience. We cater for all diets, including vegetarian, vegan & gluten free. Everyone who walks through our door receives a warm welcome and a pleasant dining experience. Bookings are advisable over busy times like weekends. Winners of the "Best Hotel Bar Dining" award in Scotland through Scottish Hotel Awards.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Visited here for a celebration meal. We have been before and never been dissatisfied always enjoyed our visit. The food is cooked fresh to order the ambiance is lovely and relaxing. Our drinks order was taken as soon as we were seated. This visit was up to the usual standard regarding the food All four of our party enjoyed the meals especially the pate peppered chicken chicken goujons. My only disappointment being that we waited what felt like a eternity for our meal order to be placed then having finished our starters the main meals were delivered before we had chance to digest the starters. I am aware the restaurant is very busy but just a little tweaking will have made the visit it’s five usual stars. We will continue to visit and support this establishment as having been closed through lockdown they are following still guidelines set out through Covid and I felt very comfortable and safe eating and visiting this on a night out.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank janetrA6858IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Great place. Friendly staff. Clean and well presented restaurant. Pie was very nice.
Quickly served. Would recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

What a fabulous find to break up our journey to Scotland. Immaculately clean, with nice decor and lovely friendly greeting upon arrival. The service could not be faulted and food was fresh and delicious. We will no doubt return. Many thanks!

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

I booked this restaurant based on the 4.5 score and the amazing looking photos on tripadvisor. Sadly I could not find anything from these photos on the menu. I saw elegant looking dishes with mussels and prawns and all sorts of fancy stuff but sadly it was just burgers and roast dinner and a few other generic pub offerings like chicken gougons and nachos. We arrived half an hour early after a really long drive hoping we could eat earlier than our 6:30 start time. Sadly we didn’t get to our table until half an hour after our booked time and had to wait a further half an hour for food. So basically we waited for 90 mins (half an hour being no fault of the restaurant). The staff were all nice enough but everything seemed to happen so slowly and I’m not sure why as there weren’t really many people there. I overheard someone else moaning that his wine hadn’t arrived after 20 mins. I mistakingly ordered the Bangkok burger thinking it was a regular burger with Thai spices. It doesn’t say vegeburger it says burger. It has a small 2 after it which if I’d looked in the key would have told me it’s vegetarian but not so obvious. And when I mentioned it at the end apparently this has happened to other people. So why not make it clearer? I paid extra for the vegeburger over the regular burger! It was ok. I wouldn’t order it again. The beer was nice. The decor was not bad. The staff were friendly but a little slow. I was asked 5 times if everything was ok but being British I didn’t want to make a fuss in front of other customers and to be honest whilst I could have left on seeing the menu, it’s very difficult to find somewhere to eat at short notice and we were all tired so just went with it. My advice to the restaurant, delete the photos of the food which were taken 4 years ago and put new photos up. My advice to customers, if you want a burger or regular pub food, then this will be ok, but if you’re on the last night of your holiday in Scotland and want one last decent meal before going home then try somewhere else.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank chriso598
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Montgomery, Owner at Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Townhead Hotel.

Firstly may I apologise for the half hour wait you had from your reservation. This is at times unavoidable when we start to run behind.

We offer a range of menus here, from as you have put it Generic Pub Offerings", to our Cut Above menu which maybe you were referring to from some of the pictures, Vegetarian menu, and also a Vegan menu, so there was a range of options available to you

With regards to your burger, our menus are well laid out with numbers beside each dish to indicate the allergies etc, with numbers like 1, 2, and 3 to depict as you said at the bottom of the menu the explanation of 1= Vegan 2= Vegetarian and 3 = Gluten Free Options Available

It was indeed myself who you spoke to when paying your bill, and although saying you didn't realise your burger was a vegetarian option, there was nothing more said to me about this, but I did say that we would have happily changed this for you if you had asked. You do say you were checked back on 5 times, whilst I get that this was maybe twice too many it shows ideal chances to say it wasn't what you expected, and for us to remedy that.

I am sorry that after your long drive, that we didn't live up to your expectations, however all our staff have also been working long hours due to the recruitment issues which hospitality are going through just now, and as their employer I praise them wholeheartedly for the efforts they put in each and every day

Finally, the pictures on our page here have dates/times on them of when they were taken or put up, and the current menu pictures were put up in May 2021, only 3 months ago. I appreciate there are older ones too, however many are from customers which we are not able to remove

Regards
Stephen Montgomery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021

We were visiting a friend and fortunately saw the good reviews for Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant on Trip Advisor. We had a superb meal here, in a lovely atmosphere and served by helpful efficient staff. We had the Beef and Ale Pie - oh my goodness it was the best we have ever tasted. Absoultely superb and the cuips were cooked to perfection. Will return when next visiting the area.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wisteria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Montgomery, Owner at Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind words. We always love to hear what our customers have to say, and after the last 17 months, it is great to be back to some kind of normality

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.