We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gluten free restaurant we have ever found!”

Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Italian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Townhead Hotel offers you a vibrant welcoming restaurant within our hotel. Having been recently refurbished, and using only the finest ingredients, farm assured, and locally sourced, we aim to provide our customers with a great dining experience. We cater for all diets, including vegetarian, vegan & gluten free. Everyone who walks through our door receives a warm welcome and a pleasant dining experience. Bookings are advisable over busy times like weekends. Winners of the "Best Hotel Bar Dining" award in Scotland through Scottish Hotel Awards.
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Family of four with two coeliacs and also dairy free. Firstly they followed Covid safety to the letter. Lovely place to dine and great service from extremely helpful and friendly serving staff. Food portions were good, more than enough for healthy appetites. Quality was excellent. We saw other menu options on other diners tables and as well as ours all looked to be substantial and great quality. Gluten and dairy free options were full menu (nothing taken away). Fish and chips, beef and ale pie and beef and chicken burgers. All the gluten free meals made to a high standard and alternate ingredients to the regular so made to look and taste the same as a regular meal. GF and DF cheesecake to follow, wow! Thank you to the Chef and team.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Snailvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2021

After a long walk with dogs and friends, the Townhead provided the perfect finale to recover. The surroundings were clean, warm and welcoming; the staff were attentive, friendly and engaging; the menu catered for all tastes and the food was delicious and fresh. It came piping hot and with sufficient to fill the space created by the walk. The only surprise was the bill in that it was not more expensive. Thank you.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Edisbestestdayever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2021

We booked online at last minute so they did seem slightly surprised to see us. Food was excellent - the 2 of us ate every bit and didn't even have room for dessert!!

Had to chase up our drinks but no big deal. Lovely and very clean surroundings. Would visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2021

We chose the Townhead as a break on our journey home from Lytham St Anne's. A quick look online at the menu meant we skipped breakfast which was a good move.

A slight panic when we arrived and were told the kitchen might be closed but after some shameless begging the chef agreed to feed us.

I had the Mozzarella and Chorizo balls which were delicious. And then came the mains. My wife had the macaroni which she really enjoyed and struggled to finish and the chips she had ordered as an extra were barely touched.

I had the steak pie.

I usually avoid steak pies out with our homemade ones as there is invariably a bit of meat that leaves a bad taste. Not a chance of that here as a whole steak had been baked in the gravy and every piece was delicious.

We had planned on having desserts but it would have required us (me) to have a little nap before resuming our journey home so we had to pass.

The service from all staff was friendly and well organised.

We rarely drive south but I have a feeling that it wont be long before we find a reason to revisit the Townhead Bar and Restaurant

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Visited here for a celebration meal. We have been before and never been dissatisfied always enjoyed our visit. The food is cooked fresh to order the ambiance is lovely and relaxing. Our drinks order was taken as soon as we were seated. This visit was up to the usual standard regarding the food All four of our party enjoyed the meals especially the pate peppered chicken chicken goujons. My only disappointment being that we waited what felt like a eternity for our meal order to be placed then having finished our starters the main meals were delivered before we had chance to digest the starters. I am aware the restaurant is very busy but just a little tweaking will have made the visit it’s five usual stars. We will continue to visit and support this establishment as having been closed through lockdown they are following still guidelines set out through Covid and I felt very comfortable and safe eating and visiting this on a night out.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank janetrA6858IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.