We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for center of Knutsford”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Accepted for what it is - a pub / restaurant offering accommodation - the Cross Keys, for me, represents good value for centre of Knutsford. Rooms are what you would expect - yes maybe a little dated but functional, however on a cold evening in February the room was warm and bed comfortable. Food in Bar / Restaurant was average - I decided to explore and eat out - but breakfast choice impressive and enjoyable. And finally the selection of beers in the bar is great - nice way to start or finish the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for room with best Wi-Fi access - speed in my room wasn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iancmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Visited with hubby & in laws for evening meal & drinks.

I would say its as you'd expect for a pub really, most people there for drinks on a Saturday evening. Although food is served until 9.30 I felt out of place eating in the middle of a busy pub at 7.30.

The wine was nice enough, and so was the beer. Food portions were huge & with the exception of the steaks we were all happy.

The staff were fine & service was good.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

There were nine of us thirsty and hungry souls wandering around this lovely town when we came across The Cross Keys and we were mighty pleased we did. Looking very traditional from the outside it was a bit more modern inside and we received a great welcome from two members of staff.

We were able to try some beers before ordering and the full lunch menu was available even though it was around 2.00pm.

This menu had a range of different from the norm snacks, both hot and cold, and everything we had was very good indeed. There was a special offer running giving a discount on food just for the provision of a name and email address and this was also well worth having.

We’d like to go again – it’s a good place!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank notwen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

As someone who has worked behind a bar I know how to deal with waiting customers, it seems that the staff on Saturday evening missed that class! The bar was busy for the rugby but we waited for a lull at the bar myself and another girl were completely ignored on purpose. The way the staff ignored us on Saturday was not acceptable, waiting over 15 minutes at the bar to get service then being ignored and them servicing people that had just walked in the door is not the way to continue in a tough industry. I wont be going in again and word of mouth is amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank 609francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We checked in on New Years Eve. The bar area is so welcoming and we thought this was a sign of good things to come. We got the keys to the two rooms we had booked and were directed to the little lodges at the back of the hotel. Unfortunately we had been given a single instead of a double, so were then sent into the hotel itself. The room was tiny and the bathroom had mould on the walls. When I used the shower it would not switch off properly. My husband tried to turn the shower off and it actually came off the wall!!! Staff were very apologetic and gave us the keys to another room, and a bottle of wine by way of apology. When we got back to our new rooms (well after midnight) we found the shower dripping very badly and the toilet did not flush. Again there was mould on the walls. It was too late to complain so we had to suffer the noise all night. When i handed the keys in the next day I was just told they were sorry and offered no recompense. Extremely disappointing. Also the room is adervtised with a free breakfast, yet i received an email after confirming the booking saying it was no longer available. A good way to get you to book and then renage without having to offer you siscount.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ange2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.2 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,026 reviews
0.5 km away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
113 reviews
5.9 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
1.9 km away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
320 reviews
10.3 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: 52 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range: $156 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is an 18th century traditional inn, in the pretty market town of Knutsford in Cheshire. We offer a variety of rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly atmosphere. Make the Cross Keys the Pub and Hotel of your choice in Knutsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing